XP mode and antivirus

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sash, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    Maybe an obvious question: do I need an extra / dedicated antivirus installation for the XP mode? Or does the 'main' antivirus, installed in W7, cover also the XP mode?

    Thanks,
    sash
     
  2. acurafan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
  3. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #3
    OK, thank you!

    sash
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I'm not sure the main W7 antivirus program will cover XP mode because you're basically running a self contained OS within a virtualized environment.

    I could be wrong but since you're running a completely separate OS you will need a separate antivirus app for the XP OS as well. You have your own code tree, start menu, and desktop with XP mode, I do not see how the W7 will be scanning and protecting that OS.
     
  5. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #5
    Especially considering the fact I'll be using it for e-banking. Most probably, only for this.

    I'll install an av right away.

    sash
     

Share This Page