XP mode in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sash, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    Is there any possibility to run XP mode on a Mac Pro (W7 Ultimate x64 via BC)? When I try to start this thing, I'm getting an error message that it could not be started because hardware-assisted virtualization is disabled. Is there any workaround to enable that?

    Thank you,
    sash
     
  2. esposimi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
  3. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #3
     
  4. esposimi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I'm not sure if this helpful but I was able to download and run the XP mode in win7 on my unibody mbp.
     
  6. esposimi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    XP works too on my MacBook Early 2008.

    Back to the original post, if you look at Apple's support site, they have an article detailing Windows 7 support in Boot Camp:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3920
     
  7. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #7
    Hi,

    I'm able to install under W7 almost all I need -- except for 1 annoying little banking program which I unfortunately absolutely can't miss. What a shame, vista is one big disaster. Hoped escaped from it... W7 looked better in the reviews I've read, although I'm afraid it's the same piece of **** as vista, but just in a new package.

    sash
     
  8. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #8
    And this program is quite a problem, as the suckers still haven't released an official version for vista (and nothing for x64 in general), and do not plan to release a thing for Mac OS at all. Like never ever. At the moment I do not whom to hate more: big time suckers from microsoft or smaller time suckers from my bank. Perhaps, both of them.
     
  9. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #9
    Are you running any kind of virtualization on Mac OS?
     
  10. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #10
    Well you could run XP Pro via VMware or Parallels on the Mac side to run this program and have W7 with Boot Camp for everything else.
     
  11. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #11
    I'll use it for some time via doubleboot W7 / vista. Hope Apple will provide some workaround for this issue in the new BC version.
     
  12. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #12
    Well according to Apple, they are going to support W7 by the end of the year. Who knows whether they actually will, however.
     
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    I was also able to get XP mode working on my MBP running Windows 7 via Boot Camp. The OP is right when he says that Windows 7 shares the same core OS as Vista. 7 is still Vista at it's core, but a cleaned up surface. Much of the Vista code remains unchanged.
     
  14. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #14
    Hi,

    I believe, every virtualization machine enables the hardware-assisted virtualization on a Mac, so actually it could be a solution. Problem is, I don’t have it and would like not to install any of them. At this point of time at least.

    Or is the XP mode working on your machine even without any Parallels etc. installed?

    sash
     
  15. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #15
    XP mode will only work in bootcamp as that provides windows with the hardware virtualization it requires. Trying to run XP mode in windows 7 under vmware or parallels will not work.
     
  16. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #16
    No, I mean, installing and running any virtualization machine enables Intel Virtualization Technology, which is otherwise disabled (so I've heard, not 100% sure). We can not access BIOS, so there is no any other solution to enable Intel VT. At least, I haven't heard of any other solution.

    If there is something I can do in order to enable Intel VT, I'd be happy to learn it...

    sash
     
  17. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #17
    Although, I could be wrong all the way... Here is what I found on Wikipedia:

    "As of July 2008, the Mac Pro (Early 2008 model, and possibly others) only supports hardware virtualization for users running Mac OS X. This is because Intel Hardware Virtualization is switched off at boot time by the EFI. Virtualization products such as Parallels Desktop for Mac can still enable the hardware virtualization after the OS has loaded, but only under Mac OS X. A similar bug in the Mac Mini was later fixed through a firmware update. It is still possible to enable the hardware virtualization under Windows using CrystalCPUID's MSR walker. It is also possible to enable it under Linux by loading the MSR module, and using that to write to the appropriate register. Once it is enabled, and locked on, it can only be disabled by physically removing the power supply from the Mac Pro."
     

Share This Page