XP or Vista?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jojoman, Aug 12, 2008.

1. jojoman macrumors newbie

Hi,

Maybe this has been debated elsewhere, but I'm a student and a mac user,but for school purposes now I have to use visual studio, so I guess I have to install a version of windows on my mac now.

So that brings me to the question: should I use xp or vista?

I've used xp before I'm converted to mac, and I think xp is ok. Vista is obviously the newer os but I've heard a lot of bad things about it. Is Vista really that bad? I asked people who are complaining about vista and the usual answer is "it's just annoying" or something like that, but I don't know many concrete evidence of why it supposedly sucks. (especially, no offense, but among mac users I have heard a lot of complaints from people who hasn't used vista, and I don't want to be one of those.) Any opinions? Should I install vista or xp?

2. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

XP, unless you have to use Vista. Just my opinion

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

4. MorzillA macrumors 6502

MorzillA

XP is the way to go for now, make sure that you search the forums for the proper way to set up and run XP on your Mac. Good luck!!

:apple:

5. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

XP is not supported anymore. And looking around, many people have bad impression about vista w/o even trying it.

If you are going to use bootcamp, I sure suggest Vista. You can goto bestbuy or frys, and try a hand on with any Vista machine.

6. nomar383 macrumors 65816

nomar383

And see if bestbuy will let you bring your NAS and install Visual Studio too! lol

7. arkitect macrumors 601

arkitect

Supported or not, XP is the safer choice.

And no, Clevin, (;)) that is not just a knee-jerk comment.
    On my Bootcamp partitions with the software we run Vista was a disaster.

8. Rmafive macrumors 6502