XP Pro, XP Home or Vista for eBay softwares?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by J22, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. J22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #1
    I will need to use some eBay tools on my new MacBook Pro: Blackthorne Pro, ShipRush, HammerTap, etc.

    I'm not sure which one I should use XP Pro, XP Home or Vista.

    Also, Fusion or Parallel?

    Please help.

    Thanks in advance,
    Jon.
     
  2. J22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #2
    Also... I probably will run 2 or 3 poker programs: Party Poker, Poker Stars, etc.

    Hope to receive several replies soon.

    Thanks in advance, again.

    Jon.
     
  3. J22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #3
    Anybody?

    56 views and no response?

    Please help. I'd like to purchase Windows tonight.

    Jon.
     
  4. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #4
    Vista is a pain in a virtual machine. So if you are only going to use it in vmware/parallels then XP is the best.

    Get the Home version, Pro is only for people with dual processors and servers.
     
  5. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    XP Home SP2 will work OK. You don't need to spend the extra $$$ for Pro and "Hasta La Vista Baby"! :D

    BTW, I use Fusion but would not count on it for games. Games run best from a natural installation of XP in a Boot Camp partition.

    Regards.
     
  6. J22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for the replies.

    About "games"... are online poker programs part of the "games"?

    Jon.
     
  7. drewel macrumors member

    drewel

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    #7
    OEM Version

    I am needing to buy XP as well, just so that I can install the Windows VPN software (& use Windows programs) to connect to my office. What I see on ebay are OEM versions of XP.... do these install the same way OK? Install on boot camp and/or parallels ok? Thanks,
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Yes,there fine to use
     

Share This Page