xp serivce pack 1 install disc - can i update to pack 2 after install?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by paisios, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. paisios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #1
    Hello,

    I've created a partition via bootcamp and installed XP service pack 1. Windows runs, but I didn't realize the disc was not service pack 2 until now.

    This is my wife's legit copy of XP home edition. (I'm pretty windows illiterate btw) So, I can start up windows, but obviously, it's not the correct service pack to read the osx disc to install the needed drivers.

    I was hoping that I could connect to the internet while in windows mode and update to service pack 2. I'm pretty sure thats what she did as I remember her running service pack 2. (made a tech support call a while back when her dell hdd crashed. total p.o.s.)

    I've fumbled around the widows os to try and establish an internet connection (plugged right into ethernet cord), but can't seem to get online.

    Is it possible to update the version of XP? Or do I need to get my hands on a fresh copy of XP full install with service pack 2 already on it?

    Would it be possible to get such a disc free since I already have XP install disc?

    Any advice, ideas?

    THanks in advance and sorry if this is something that has already been addressed. I search around. Spoke with apple and they said that maybe there was a way. Pointed me to message boards and to search microsoft support forums. Figured if I was going to go anywhere it would be here since I can get informed and trusted insight from apple experts right here.



    Thanks,
    paisios
     
  2. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #2
  3. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #3
    awesome

    thank you very much! that was record speed

    that slipstreaming is looking a bit over my head. i'll have to take some time and figure that out! thanks again!!!!
     
  4. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #4
    Well, I did the thumb drive thing. All seemed well until the end. I got a message saying I needed and extra 4mb of space. I have about 10 gb of free space on the partition, so I'm not sure what's up with that.

    Looks like I should try the slipstreaming thing? Start over from scratch with that?
     
  5. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #5
    Would you recommend FAT32 or the NTFS? Could this be contributing to my problem? I used FAT32.
     
  6. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #6
  7. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #7
    Ok thanks. Yeah, I guess I'm gonna have to get on my father-in-laws PC to get this done.

    Last I tried I couldn't get online while using the windows partition. Think it has something to do with the service pack 1 issue.

    I guess there is no way to create the windows slip stream on a mac.
     
  8. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #8
    would you trust a downloaded copy of xp sp2? I wouldn't be infringing any copyrights since I do have a legit copy would I?

    Any serious danger in trying the limewire route?
     
  9. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #9
    yeah, it is still illegal even if you do have a copy. plus d/l'ing stuff like that is like reaching into a bag of skittles...could come out clean, could come out w/ a nasty virus. you just never know. slipstreaming would prob be ur best bet for now.
     
  10. paisios thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #10
    Can I install XP sp3?

    OR can I only install XP sp2?

    If I must start out with Xp Sp2, can I update to sp3?

    Thanks for all your help!!!


    paisios
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    According to apples bootcamp section it must be sp2, and yes once installed you can update to sp3
     

Share This Page