XP SP 3 with Parallels/Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Enigmafan420, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    HELP! 3rd request!!!

    Has anyone been successful with this combination?

    I have installed bootcamp, no problems-and later I installed parallels-bought it with the Mac Update bundle.

    Everything is fine until I install SP-3. Once SP-3 is installed, the system makes a compulsory reboot and then Windows identifies a critical update that it installs. Once that update is installed-goodbye bootcamp partition-neither parallels or bootcamp will start windows at that point. An error message about a missing HAL.DLL (I think) error message appears.

    Does anyone else have a similar configuration and have you been able to use SP-3 with bootcamp and parallels at the SAME TIME?

    This is bugging me-I have had to reinstall Windows twice (a total of 3 times counting the first install) and I do not want to do it again, but would like to download the service pack.

    Thanks!
     
  2. synth17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
  3. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #3
    I have it working. I didn't have a HAL.DLL problem, but I did have to edit my Parallels so that it treated the bootcamp paritition as a new install of the VM. It had to revalidate windows and install the parallels tools again, but all worked fine.

    I installed sp3 from windows natively first, then once that was complete and rebooted, I cleaned up the Parallels VM.
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    I have found that when I upgrade to SP3, XP will no longer boot via Boot Camp - it just shows a black screen until I power down my MacBook Pro.

    It launches fine in Parallels (using the Boot Camp installation), however. :confused:

    So I am sticking with SP2 + post-SP2 updates.
     
  5. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #5
    I am thinking of trying the slipstream approach-thank you for the info.

    That being said, I am for sure GUN SHY-and I may just stick it out with SP-2. I really do not know if there is anything that compelling in SP-3-it is just with Windows-I try to stay totally current as there seems to be some sort of critical update almost every week.
     
  6. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    Updated to SP3 Lost XP

    I just updated to SP3 and parallels seemed to be running fine. My mac side was acting weird (not loading apps) so I decided to reboot. Now when I start parallels it prompts me to load a new operating system.

    Does anyone have a way for me to fix parallels or recover my previous system?

    Help please!

    EDIT: I was able to get parallels to load the windows image as the drive files were still available. However, I had to reinstall a new virtual machine and now it is running much slower. Any ideas?
     
  7. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #7
    This sounds exactly like the problems I was having-when you try to boot with bootcamp-does it say HLL.DLL is missing or corrupt?
     
  8. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    That is what it would say if I tried to load a certain file for the "new" operating system. However, if I selected the actual "drive" file it loaded up fine. So far no problems. Seems like it is getting better.

    Chris
     
  9. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #9
    Will you please keep me up-to-date on this? I really would like to use SP-3 and if you find out something that works-I would like to know. I just downloaded a piece of software from MacUpdate that will allow you to make an image of your boot camp partition-I am probably going to do that, and then slipstream the SP-3 and try ONE MORE TIME.

    I got nothing else to do on this fabulous holiday weekend :eek:
     

Share This Page