XP SP2 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Flyer77, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. Flyer77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    I was upgrading my Windows XP copy on my Mac with SP2 so it would, well, work, but every time I start installation for it it states there is not enough space for the uninstillation folder, which is only 4 MB large! My hard drive (C:) states it has 30GB of free space. Anyone know whats happening?
     
  2. A Pittarelli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #2
    the problem is youre trying to install windows :p
     
  3. Flyer77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
  4. itgoesbuzz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Location:
    royal oak, mi
    #4
    So you installed a Windows XP version without SP2 already on it?

    If that's the case, I think the directions for Bootcamp say not to use a version w/o SP2 already on it, and that upgrading to SP2 wont work from a version without SP2 already on it or something. For this reason, i haven't put XP on there yet because my copy is too old.

    but i've got no experience on this since i haven't done it yet, but i think that might be your problem.

    you can find the boot camp instructions on the bootcamp d/l page, it is like 25 pages long.

    here is the link:
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/publicbeta.html

    btw, i assume you're using bootcamp

    Hope this helps, good luck
     
  5. Planner Dude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    how do you tell if you have a copy with sp2

    how do you tell if you have a copy with sp2 of you don't own the box or the original cd.... ihave a copy from a cdr...is it possible to have a cd with the orginal or sp1 plus also contain a seperate file of the sp2 update?
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Just search the forums for slipstream(ing). Incorporate SP2 before you install. You'll need access to a Windows box to perform the process though, unless you know your way around Crossover/DarWine.

    B
     
  7. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #7
    Parallels will let you install SP1 and then upgrade it to SP2 [I know.. I did it]...
    but remember that the "windows" hard disk is a virtual device and depending on how you originally installed it.. IT may not be big enough... Parallels allows each virtual drive to be up to 128gig regardless of the physical media size.
     
  8. jtrwallace macrumors member

    jtrwallace

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #8
    Yeah, I'm surprised BootCamp even let you install it with only SP1, it wouldn't for me. You need to go onto a pc and slipstream SP2 into your Windows install and then re-burn your Windows installation disk. It's really not a very hard process.... I did it on a Virtual PC on a PowerBook G4 and it only took half an hour... that's an amazing feat if you have ever used Virtual PC.
     
  9. taupin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    #9
    I'm having sort of the same problem. I installed XP service pack 1 on my Macbook Pro without using BootCamp/Parallels/etc, just rEFIt. Surprisingly it all worked out fine, but now that I am trying to install SP2 from a dedicated CD I got from Microsoft [my internet connection maxes out at about 12 KBps], I've hit problems. The partition on which XP resides has 80 GB free, yet the installer complains about not having 8MB for storage of uninstaller files. What gives? I'm certain that it's not a BootCamp problem, as I'm not using that software...

    Please help... I have 20 days left to activate Windows, and I can't use access the internet without BootCamp drivers, which won't install unless I have SP2 installed. I'd also rather not have to completely reinstall Windows, but I suppose I will if that's my only choice. In the meantime I'll do a bit of research on slipstreaming.
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    The essential part of Boot Camp is the firmware update you are already using, plus the drivers. The rest of it is just window dressing.

    Do yourself a favor and use your SP1 install to slipstream SP2 (use nlite) and start over. It'll be FAR simpler.

    B
     
  11. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #11
    You can take a windows XP CD you already have and slipstream Service Pack 2 into it, and then re-burn the compilation for use. Mind you, I did all this on a PC with Nero6, and I had an activation-free corporate edition of XP.

    I took the old XP CD that I ripped to my computer, then I downloaded SP2 and slipstreamed it in, then saved it all as an .iso file.

    So now, when I want to burn a new copy of XP, its got SP2 already in the install. Or, for VMWware/Parallels, I just use the .iso to install it.

    here's a link how:
    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp

    I did this like 2 years ago or something and never looked back. I've installed it probably 50 times like this since, never failed once.
     

Share This Page