XP SP2 v SP3

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Marco1, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. Marco1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    I plan to get XP Pro, but I see that most of what's out there new has SP3. Will that be a problem?

    Anything tricky about installation? (I think I already have Bootcamp installed as I have a new Mac.) Thanks.
     
  2. Pickoff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    I dont think that there is any doubt that you should update to SP3 as soon as you can.

    Nothing really that tricky. Make sure when the installer asks you to format, make sure you format, and not convert or leave the same.
     
  3. DukeOliver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #3
    Just put XP SP3 on my macbook about an hour ago and it works perfectly so far, so i'd recommend getting SP3. Make sure you find a proper tutorial online on how to do it, i've seen plenty of people screwing up the installation because of a lack of knowledge
     
  4. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    And make sure you download the Boot Camp 2.1 updater from the Apple Boot Camp Support page, then run it from within Windows when your installation is complete and working, as it updates some of the Apple supplied drivers to work correctly with SP3. Be sure to download the correct version of the 2.1 updater BTW- there are different ones for XP, Vista 32 and Vista 64.

    Also, you might want to download and print Apple's nice Boot Camp Installation Guide at the page I mentioned which you can follow along to make the use of the Boot Camp Assistant and the installation of Windows pretty straight forward.
     
  5. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #5
    Just did a clean install of Windows XP the other day.
    Applied SP3 and got it all up to date.

    it works fine wiht all my apps thusfar, havent ran into any issues with it.


    but immediately after installing do apply the 2.1, i think it will be fine after the fact since SP3 will be dault on the install disk you get i assume.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Just BTW, don't do what I did.

    Had XPSP2 installed wonderfully for Boot Camp and Parallels, but I rarely need the Boot Camp. So when SP3 came out I decided to I installed SP3 from within Parallels and have now lost the ability to boot from Boot Camp due to some registry entries that were not properly made to the BC hardware configuration.

    Some day I'll have to Slipstream SP3 onto my install CD and perform a repair on the install.

    B
     
  7. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #7
    Yep me too! You MUST SLIPTSTREAM SP-3 or you will SUFFER the loss of your bootcamp partition.

    If you start with SP-2 DO NOT DOWNLOAD SP-3!!! Man I found out the hard way TWICE...
     
  8. Nordichund macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #8
    I have two Macs. The first one I upgraded my XP SP2 to SP3 using the automatic downloader and I had to delete my entire Boot Camp and reinstall parallels 3. Later when given the option to upgrade to SP3 I declined.

    My new MBP I installed a new disc with XP SP3 after creating Boot Camp. It works perfectly both in Boot Camp and Parallels 3. Parallels 4 was a different story. I downgraded back to 3.
     
  9. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #9
    I have made a Slipstreamed SP-3 too and installed it with no problems on my new MacBook. Works with both Bootcamp and Parallels 3.X

    That being said, I have not heard of ANYONE who has been successful at upgrading to SP-3 using Windows Update.
     
  10. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #10
    Does Boot Camp come with the previous (early 2008) generation MBPs?
     
  11. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #11
    Yes, it is part of Leopard, not the Hardware.
     
  12. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #12
    Probably, but it doesn't matter, you can just download the necessary files from Apple's site.

    I installed XP on a 2007 Macbook Pro, and it was actually probably the easiest install I've ever done. Apple did a great job!

    The biggest issue with XP (not Vista) is just that it has to be SP2 or higher. My old copy was SP1, so I had to go through the process of slipstreaming it to be SP2. It was...well it all ended up working, but it's harder than it should be. Microsoft ought to just release a GUI tool to do that. Like "where's the original disc? Where's the copy of SP3? Okay wait...now burn this to disc!" and you're done...but instead it's all command line based or using third party tools.

    Considering how many normal people now have a reason to need to do this, they should make an easy versions, not just the developers type tools.
     
  13. drichards macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #13
    Look in /application/utilities; you should see boot camp assistant.
     
  14. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #14
    There are actually 3rd party applications that make this SIMPLE-I have used several, but the most recent one I used for my new MB is called "nLite".

    The only things you need for this is the original XP disc and to download a full copy of SP-3 (and a burnable CD). This program is SIMPLE to use.

    One thing, it is a WINDOWS program-so use your friend's computer or existing bootcamp install to make new slipstreams. It is MUCH EASIER than M$'s method for making the slipsteam.
     
  15. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #15
    I've never heard of anyone NOT having success in real life. I've installed it on at least 8 systems I can think of, and it's gone flawlessly on all of them.

    Only issue I've heard of, is HP was stupid enough to ship systems with both AMD and Intel drivers active at the same time. For some unknown reason that actually WORKED on SP2, but killed SP3 on AMD CPUs. That's not a flaw with AMD's CPUs though, or with Windows, or with SP3...that's entirely HP's fault for being so stupid as to ship systems running drivers for hardware they don't have.

    Yeah, I think that's what I ended up using too. It wasn't terrible, but I'm always hesitant to use third party apps if I don't need to...especially with something like that, where theoretically you could do some REALLY nasty things to an OS with a program like that.
     
  16. the advisor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #16
    I just did the 2.1 boot camp update to fix my BSD issue and now I have no sound?

    I did that update after installing SP3 to get everything all in sync. After completing the update, I lost my sound abilities in Windows XP. The device driver is still there, everything seems as if it should be working fine by nothing comes out of the speakers - both the MBP internals and the external ones I have. I went to reinstall, and then got a blue screen. This is getting so frustrating!!!!!!
     
  17. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #17
    I meant using Bootcamp-I have tried to use Windows Update and Bootcamp 3 times to get SP-3. Everytime the update process trashes the Bootcamp Windows Boot record.

    When installing SP-3 on my last remaining WINDOWS machine-it works fine-obviously.

    This point was made to alert BOOTCAMP users not to install SP-3 unless you slipstream it!

    Did you UPDATE bootcamp or did you use the original install? If it is original install-you need to put the Leopard Disc 1 into your CD drive after windows restarts and it will automatically install Apple's drivers.
     
  18. the advisor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #18
    Update

    It was the bootcamp update. I had SP2 running on the version of bootcamp that came with the MBP I picked up a month ago. Worked fine. I updated to SP3 and then started getting BSDs, so I am now attempting to update boot camp to see if it resolves the issue. My flash player is also up to date.
     
  19. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #19
    Did you do a clean windows install to use SP-3? If you did not, and you manage to get it working-please post how. As I have posted above, I have never been successful at getting SP-2 to update to SP-3 in bootcamp.
     
  20. the advisor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #20
    Interesting...

    To be honest I did not do anything out of the ordinary. As soon as I got my new MBP out of the box I ran bootcamp and made an NTFS partition when I installed XP Pro. I was in windows when it prompted me to update to SP3. It went about its thing normally, updated as if I was on a windows machine. I started getting blue screen of death while gaming on the windows side, which prompted me to check for updates. That landed me here, where I found out about the boot camp update. I installed it, seems to be working find just lacks sound? I am still getting the BSODs by the way.
     
  21. the advisor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #21
    I fixed it

    I uninstalled and then reinstalled boot camp software from the osx disc... Now to see if it still blue screens...?
     

Share This Page