XP/SP3 installation does not complete

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Adiabatic, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. Adiabatic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    My attempts at installation of XP/SP3 does not go through to completion. Sequence:
    • Boot Camp 2.1 has been downloaded to the iMac.
    • A new XP/SP3 disk, not the retail version but the version for use with new PC (an OEM system build disk with all the holograms, COA etc., not a pirate copy and not specific for one brand of PC).
    • Installation proceeds through partition and selection of Format (in my case a 20 GB FAT32). There is all manner of whirring and such followed by a screen appearing telling me how fantastic life will be with Windows in just 39 minutes. Things continue this way until the comment says it will be only 33 minutes until my new life with Windows. Then time stands still and life does not get better even after an hour it says 33 minutes remaining.
    • When I restart the iMac a Windows screen appears and asks for the install disk and the whole process starts over at the 39 minute mark.
    • If the Windows disk is not in the drive, it asks for various things but if one does not insert the windows disk eventually this message appears:

    PHP:
    Error:
    Setup encountered error while trying to set system security.
    The data is invalid.
    Fatal error:
    One of the components that Windows needs to continue setup could not be installed.
    The operation was cancelled by the user.
    • If I turn on the computer while depressing the option key I can choose between a hard disk or CD version of Windows, as well as OS X, to start from but the result is the same as described above either way.
    • I have tried the installation both using the Quick version and the other offering with the same results.

    There is some background from the Apple Support discussion forums (see thread). It appears to be an installation problem that has occurred in the past but I have not found anyone that has presented a workable solution.

    I would like to either get XP/SP3 running or conclude that I wasted $90 and try to crank up my ancient PC laptop to download some PC only tax software. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I've never seen that error before during a Windows installation so I'm guessing (could be wrong) that there might be something wrong with the disk. You could get a trial version of VMware Fusion and install XP as a virtual machine to test it out.
     
  3. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    As steveza mentioned, try a free trial of virtualization software (Parallels or VM Ware Fusion). If this works, buy the software. Why? If all you plan on doing is using tax software, virtualization is powerful enough.

    If you really want to use bootcamp, try formatting NTFS instead. And yes, you can write to NTFS from OS X, just install Macfuse and NTFS 3G, it's free might I add.
     
  4. Adiabatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I can try this if VMware Fusion or Parallels can use an incompletely installed version of XP or either application allows me to complete the installation which repeatedly freezes up before all the necessary items are loaded. I am not familiar with the sequence of using either of the applications so I do not know if they could facilitate the loading of XP. If you think it is worth the time, I will give it a try.
     
  5. Adiabatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Semi Success

    I found my old original copy of Parallels and loaded it. Of course nothing goes smoothly and it would not launch. After spending some time using an unfriendly Parallels website and searching I found a download for the current build of Parallels (mine was the original 3.0). After loading Parallels the XP loaded and appears to be working.

    One further question. Now that Windows is on the iMac it seems the only way I can use it is through the Parallels app. When I start the iMac using the option key it does not even show the XP. Is there anyway to access it through Boot Camp? Also Parallels did not ask for the original Leopard disk to load drivers. Is this a problem?
     
  6. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    The Parallels install will only be available when OS X is running, there must be a reason why boot camp isn't working but I can't think why not.

    You virtual machine uses drivers supplied by Parallels as it doesn't access any of your hardware directly so you won't need any Apple supplied drivers.
     

Share This Page