XP SP3 won't install

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Sundance2007, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Sundance2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #1
    I am running Win. XP with SP2 via Bootcamp on my Macbook. Haven't had any real problems except it downloads SP3 and tells me it's ready to install. I click the yellow shield and tell it to install and after a short time of it seeming to installing the SP I get an error saying the install has failed. The error says something to the effect I need x MB of space to install the SP but there is only 4 MB available. There is over 20+ GB of space free on the Win partition.


    Does anyone know what is going on here and how to get it past this and to install SP3?


    Thanks,

    Steve

    P.S. Also should I maybe defrag. the Win partition? Does one need to defrag. the Mac partition(not relationg to this problem, just as a general housekeeping task)
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    This is a known issue. I don't recall the fix off the top of my head, but a Google search will return plenty of hits on the workaround.
     
  3. Sundance2007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #3
    Thanks, Found what I need and it installed just fine.




    What about defrag. is it needed with a Mac?
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Nope,OS X auto defrags files under 20mb and as thats 99.99% of all the files on your HDD its not worth it
     
  5. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #5
    hi, what was this fix? as im about to install SP3 soon here on my Bootcamp XP drive.

    thanks
     
  6. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    You if you download and install the newest version of Bootcamp through Apple Update on windows and SP3 will install.
     
  7. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #7
    what about using a dedicated SP3 Install disc that already has SP3 on it?

    has anyone ever done that yet?
     

Share This Page