XP specs vs OSX specs... Whats the deal?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by djhspawn, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. djhspawn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #1
    so...... I added an extra 2gbs of ram to the MP today. Everything looks great in OSX, but windows I have the following specs. Anyone know why? Pics attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #4
    Just waiting on my own 4GB to arrive today. I was told that 32-bit Vista will address up to 3GB of RAM. Is it different for 32-bit Vista and XP then? Or did I get that 3GB wrong?

    You learn something new every day. :)
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Hmm, not sure. I have an extra GB (will take me to 3) on its way but I expect it won't arrive until the new year.
     
  6. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #6
    Is this via bootcamp or parallels? If so, I thought parallels was limited to 2GB.

    As for bootcamp, I'd guess it should be just like vista32 bit native which should see 3.x GB RAM.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
  8. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    32 bit XP should display about 3.3gb RAM in optimal situations. Something looks to be fishy there. Do you have some heavy-duty system devices (pci cards for music, fast video cards etc) that might be clogging up the 32 bit address space?
     
  9. jonnysods macrumors 601

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #9
    Strange

    There might be more to your issue than the 32-bit deal - I have 3gb on my MBP and Windows recognizes it fine. I wish I had an SR laptop though - I would love the full 4.
     
  10. exabytes18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Suburb of Chicago
    #10
    There's nothing wrong. Windows XP 32 bit is limited to addressing only 4GB of memory. This doesn't mean that it will see all 4GB of RAM in your computer. Graphics cards, other PCI cards with built-in memory, and the page file (or whatever the virtual memory is called) are all included in that 4GB.

    So at the end of the day, Windows only has enough addressing space left for roughly 2GB in your case.
     
  11. splashtech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #11
    This is incorrect. The page file is not included in this. The figure quoted in the system properties on XP/Vista/etc is only the physical memory (RAM) in the PC (or virtual PC).

    More on virtual memory (page file): link. :)
     
  12. djhspawn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #12
    I am using bootcamp.

    So with vista 32bit it would see 3gbs?
     
  13. exabytes18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Suburb of Chicago
    #13
    Right, I know that the system properties is reporting the physical memory in use. I was just throwing the thought out there that some part of those 4GB (max for 32-bit windows) is reserved for the page file.

    Since you seem to know enough about this, care to explain exactly what's using the rest of the address space?
     
  14. jeff^d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #14
    There are similar problem reported here, here, and here. This is quite the black hole of a problem. No solutions yet, unfortunately.
     
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #15
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platform/server/PAE/PAEmem.mspx
    "The maximum amount of memory that can be supported on Windows XP Professional is 4GB". So perhaps XP Home only supports 2gb even on wintels.

    However, someone mentioned:
    "32-Bit versions of Microsoft Windows XP Home and Windows XP Professional will not utilize more than 2GB of RAM on the Mac Pro. You must use a 64-bit version of Windows to utilize more than 2GB of memory on this system."

    However at this time BootCamp does not have drivers for 64-bit windows.

    If that's true that is a problem. If it's a problem it'll be time to write to
    http://www.apple.com/feedback/
     
  16. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #16
    I'm thinking that in bootcamp, you should be seeing roughly 3GB in XP or Vista (any of their 32bit flavours)

     
  17. splashtech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #17
    Sorry - I dont think I made myself clear. The page file is not "reserved". It is in fact a file on the hard disk and will not be reserved in any way from physical RAM (or the hard disk even which can cause issues if it needs to grow - but that's another story! :eek:) I wasn't crapping on you or your post at all, I just wanted to ensure the OP received the correct info :)

    I am surprised to see that myself, I (like others here) also expected it to show as 3.3(ish) GB or 4GB. I've had 4GB in a PC and win32bit saw it as 3.3 or so in a machine at work. It should not only be seeing 2GB. But I dont know why so it's a bit of a mystery. However as some other posters have mentioned, this does seem to be a specific problem, not a general windows deficiency.
     
  18. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #18
    It depends on how the ram configuration in his Mac Pro is set up. The memory is installed in pairs. If the OP reads this could you tell us how your ram is configured?
    You have 4GB, is it (2) 2GB sticks or (4) 512MB sticks?
     
  19. djhspawn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #19
    The configuration is as follows:

    first riser: 4 x 512mb
    second riser: 2 x 1gb
     
  20. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #20
    Last time I check 4*512=±2Gb... :rolleyes:
     
  21. Summer2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
  22. Summer2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #22
    That's the new math.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page