Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
Hello Im very new to the MAC OS X. I want to use Boot camp to use a few programs that are only microsoft compatible. How do I go about doing this. I have the XP disc, Windows XP Proffesional. However I don't know if it has Service pack 2 included into the disc or if I need it. Can someone give me some advice.

Thanks alot!

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
Sorry just saw on the XP disc it says Service Pack 2 included lol..so now all I have to do is install the disc reboot then install the two discs that came with my MBP?

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
Really need the help...was going to instal it before i had to start working. Thanks again in advance!

flopticalcube

macrumors G4
After you have partitioned the disk, it will restart your Mac and then you pop in the XP disk and let Windows do its thing. The bootcamp drivers are installed after XP installs. Just pop your first (I think) OSX disk in when you are under Windows and you should see the drivers there.

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
Sometimes I feel Mac may be just too easy to use lol...thanks for the quick help man I appreciate it alot. anything else I need to know?

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
it just keeps going through the installing XP process (wont let me eject the disc either)...what should i do?

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
I think i got it. I kept hitting "Leave system files intact" and i needed to use NTFS. Lets see what happens now lol.

Maxxx85

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008