Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

canadaman001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2013
Hello

I am a relatively new to color correction, i do have some experience in it since i am editor by trade. I am shooting my first short film and commercial nothing big small project trying to break in to directing. I don't have budget for post i will be handling all of the post production. i all ready own 2 dell u2410 monitors. I did some research and thinking of purchasing xrite i1 display pro co calibrate my monitor to rce 709 which xrite can do. but since i will be just doing this for web only is it wise to spend money on xrite i mean will it make a difference in my color correction?

On my monitor i have option between srgb and rgb and with xrite rec 709 but what is the difference between those 3 and wich one should i use

Thanks
For help

Tesselator

macrumors 601
Jan 9, 2008
Japan
It depends. How stealthy are you at recognizing correct SMPTE bars? If you can do that (and most editors I know can) then you should be fine without any color calibration devices. On the internet everyone's monitors are set differently anyway so as long as you're close it's probably good enough. You would be better off spending the money on software or hardware Vectorscope & Waveform Monitors.

Color calibraion devices come in really handy for those people (usually photographers) who do a lot of printing and don't want to waste ink trying to get everything to match up just perfect. But beyond that, ehh... I mean unless you're nearly color blind or something... How do you score on something like this:

http://www.xrite.com/custom_page.aspx?PageID=77

Arrange the patches to make the gradient from the fixed left to the fixed right color patches and then click the Score Results button.

GP-SE

macrumors 6502
Feb 27, 2013
I own a DataColor Spyder 4 Pro, very easy to use, and provides accurate calibration.