XS MAX AND XS one SSID=HORRID

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by steelo3232, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. steelo3232 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #1
    So Our family all has the XS or XS max... we recently went to one SSID to accommodate a mesh system throughout the house. Everything has been working wonderfully, except our phones... they are USELESS on the home WiFi. The IPAD PRO which has not been updated to 12.1.1 works splendidly. Opens the security cameras instantaneously. We cant even browse the web on our phones without a significant wait. The Cheap ass 65 dollar android tablet our 5 year old has files on our 500 meg connection and nothing else has had a problem but our phones... there was an old article here indicating this was not confined to us back in September has this not been resolved.....????? TIA
     
  2. Gamer-Dad macrumors regular

    Gamer-Dad

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2018
    Location:
    Pasadena MD USA
    #2
    I haven't used multiple SSID's in a long time. Never had a problem with wifi connectivity. Maybe try resetting the router, or forgetting the network on your phones and starting over.
     
  3. imaccooper macrumors 6502

    imaccooper

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    It sounds like something may be wrong with your network setup and/or the way your phones are connected to it. Just using one SSID is not a problem as long as it is set up properly for your situation.

    If you can post some more details about your setup such as what router you are using, some basic setup details like which band are you using (5.0 or 2.4), and what devices are connected to your network, maybe we can give some suggestions that may help.
     
  4. bransoj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #4
    I used to have some issues when we upgraded our Sky broadband router and got Sky Q TV at home. The set up includes a mesh network i believe that allowed the TV boxes to work with each other and the TV mini box acted as a wifi extender. I believe it had both 2.4 and 5 wifi networks on it under the same SSID and lots of folk had issues with how the phone handled moving around the house between boxes etc. I sometimes would have to turn wifi off and back on to refresh the connection if i moved from near the router to nearer the extender or vice versa. I'm not sure when it changed but thinking about it i've not had to do this in a quite a while now so something has changed at some point to fix it....i suspect it changed with an upgrade of iOS but not sure which.
     
  5. The Oak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    #5
    Typically, when my cameras are slow to pull up, it is because I have turned WiFi off and I am getting to the cameras from the outside in. Kick in WiFi ... super fast.
     
  6. Arni99, Jan 19, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2019

    Arni99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #6
    No issues on my XS using the same SSID for 2 WiFi 5.0 GHz access points which are

    - cable modem connected to a dLAN power line adapter
    - 2nd power line adapter at the other end of my flat which is my 2nd WiFi

    Had to switch off the 2.4GHz for both - otherwise it wouldn’t have worked with the same SSID in my case.

    Now it switches automatically between those 2 WiFi’s always choosing the strongest network.
     
  7. jschnee21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    #7
    Band steering (one SSID across multiple bands) is never a good idea. It’s always best practice to have separate SSIDs for 2.4GHz versus 5.8GHz. Join your device to only one band.

    Different routers/wireless APs all use different proprietary implementations of band steering. Sometimes it works with some/all devices. Sometimes it’s garbage.

    Using the same SSID per band across multiple wireless APs is fine as long as each is on a different channel, are connected to the same backhaul subnet, and share a common DHCP server and gateway.

    Band steering should never be required for a mesh solution. But it may be enabled by default.
     

Share This Page