Xserver As A desk top

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macintosh¯Lover, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. Macintosh¯Lover macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    WHY?! There is no point to doing this, and you would have to buy the 24" Cinema Display to do so.
     
  3. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #3
    You could, but why?

    And you better be deaf or very hard of hearing.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Not strictly true. You can buy a converter and then use any other monitor.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Oh, yes, that's right. I was thinking it was the other way around, for some reason... :confused:
     
  6. DeepCobalt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Over and around
    #6
    You could, but have you tried??? They're noisy. They're hot. Why not just get a Mac Pro???
     
  7. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    mcpryon2

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #7
    I sense an acquisition from an employer. Other than that I'd have to fall into the "why?" camp.
     
  8. stuboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #8
    I had this question too , my "WHY" is cost ! In my country we have to buy OSX Server software separately so it would add +/-$1000 to the cost of the mac pro. Noise and heat not an issue ; Mount the server on the other side of a brick wall and drill hole for cables etc. Would like the server software but would prefer a mac pro :confused:
     
  9. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #9
    At first it seemed like a cool idea to me, putting a nice Cinema Display on top, etc.

    What draws me away:
    - Crap graphics (64mb integrated)
    - Extremely loud
    - Expensive
    - Large footprint
    - Have to buy Leopard Desktop

    Just get a Mac Pro.
     
  10. macuser154 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    You can, but I don't see the point. First of all they are bloody loud, even when they are idling. They are designed to be mounted in 1U cabinets, so it will be hard to integrate into your workspace (I'm guessing). To name a couple of problems.

    I would go for a Mac Pro, they are much better desktops.
     
  11. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #11
    I'll add one more thing:

    They - and more than some other rackmount servers, regardless of the rated operating temperature - are designed to be used in a controlled environment. By using them in varying ambients beyond the mid-20C's at most, you may end up with a shorter system life than even a glorified home computer like the Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page