Yahoo messenger download issues

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mikeM247, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. mikeM247 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi! This one has been vexing me for months. For some reason, i cannot download file transfers in yahoo messenger! I get a crazy popup asking what i want to use to OPEN UP the file, and i'm put into the box with Documents, Desktop, Applications, etc. And NOTHING ever leads to something i can click on to open the files!!

    Any thoughts or help much appreciated.

    ~mike
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    I haven't dealt much with Yahoo! Messenger, but my experience has been all bad. The user interface? Sucks. For the sake of troubleshooting, try Adium, although it has been known to have file transfer issues itself.

    And it's all-around a better client. ;)
     
  3. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #3
    OK, thanks...will check it out later.
     
  4. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    do the files download? What kind of files are they?




    I've never tried sending/receiving on YIM through my mac, so I don't know.


    Usually the box that says "open with.." comes up when no default program is set to handle the file. If it is a music file, iTunes or even quicktime should handle it easy enough.

    If it is a compressed format like .bz or something like that, you will probably need a program called "Stuffit expander" to unpack it.
     
  5. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #5
    They're photo files, usually...sometimes a video? But no, they don't download.
     
  6. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    I've added it, but...i'm not sure i like it. It will take some getting used to. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    Do the transfers at least work? That's what I was more interested in.
     
  8. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #8
    Transfers?? Not sure what you mean by that, but i was able to link up all three of my messengers with it. Does it have webcam access too?
     
  9. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Adium does not have Webcam or voice capability as far as I know. It is a basic messenger that connects to many different providers. I currently use it for MSN & Yahoo. I like it because:

    -Offline Messaging works

    -I can choose to always show certain contacts even when offline (because they often message me offline or ask me to message them, and I don't like searching for their names in the list of offline contacts.

    -The interface is small, and clean (i find MSN to be very large for no reason sometimes. This is a basic window displaying the contacts.

    -The chat interface can be customized. I currently have a dark black/blue background which looks pretty cool.

    -File transfers work, I've done it before.


    My only problem with using it for MSN was that I could not see if my hotmail had any messages without using the annoying popup notification. I currently use Hotmail's e-mail forwarding to forward to my .mac mail address which delivers straight to my desktop. As for Yahoo mail...well I won't worry about that. I've been forced to discard it because it's been plagued by a lot of Spam. Not the normal spam you get once in a while, I mean hundreds of porn/scam sites sending **** there.

    I have 1 option to fix it, and that is not to use it for about a year until it gets shut down, then open it up later hoping that the automated programs sending e-mails have left it alone.
     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    That was your initial problem, was it not?

    No, Adium does not support video chat. Personally, I prefer Skype or iChat for quality.
     
  11. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #11
    I'm having trouble getting Adium to connect successfully with Yahoo chat. It's only opening up MSN. So this is =another= issue. And yes, since i cannot use webcam with Adium, that's another strike against it. (sigh).
     
  12. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    Maybe try using meebo? No file transfers though... :mad:
     
  14. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #14
    Not an error page "per se"; I get a notice/popup/ asking me WHAT i want to use to open the files (!!) :confused:, and WHERE do i want to put the files:eek:. I see a long list of places, including applications, desktop, my computer, etc. It just makes no sense to me. Most of the things have ZERO to do with showing photo files. I click on Adobe, it leads to NOTHING. Most anything that might make sense is greyed out and not available.

    I sent a submission to yahoo! tech support, moments ago. I =hope= they can help me with this, if you guys can't. I am using messenger 3.0 beta.
     
  15. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #15
    PS: reading up on this a little, i saw a review of Yahoo mess for MAC that was written in 2007. at least at THAT time, the reviewer indicated file transfers/sharing/ was NOT part of what this MAC version of yahoo messenger was capable of doing. But since i receive a permissions popup when someone tries to send a file, and i DO click on accept (only to get that bewildering notice about choosing a program to open the file) I am assuming that file transfers are NOW something this messenger CAN do. :(
     
  16. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #16
    Have you tried just telling it to put the files on your desktop?
     
  17. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #17
    I =would= but the main thing is, I am first given a bewildering array of places from which i have to CHOOSE as the download agent, first. The desktop is not given as a specific option, but rather i have to choose amongtst all the icons that are ON the desktop, and i'm supposed to choose ONE of those icons...NONE of which have anything to do with showing pic files.
     
  18. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #18
    Can you post a screenshot of what you're talking about? :confused:
     
  19. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #19
    When asked WHAT to open the file with, be sure and select ALL APPLICATIONS from the dropdown.

    Then select Preview. Tick the little box/button that says to open all files of this type with the selected application.

    If presented with a video, do the same, but select Quicktime (you'll need Flip4Mac and Perian installed in order to open wmv files that Windows users send to you).

    It also helps to have the Finder window set to LIST VIEW for this.
     
  20. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #20
    OK, i'll try to keep this all in mind the next time i'm presented with a file download..thanks.

    And to the previous poster: i'm not sure how to provide a screenshot.
     
  21. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #21
    Press command+shift+4, press the spacebar, and click on the window in question. A file will appear like "Picture 1.png" on your desktop. Upload that to MacRumors using the "attach file" section on the post/reply page, and then you can delete Picture 1.png.
     
  22. mikeM247 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #22
    Fascinating! OK, thanks! Never knew that. Next oppty that this issue pops up, so to speak, i will take the screenshot.
     
  23. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #23
    Yeah, it's a handy trick. In Leopard, the screenshot even includes the window's drop shadow, which is super great for impressing the PC geeks. ;)
     

Share This Page