Yahoo! Messenger - scroll bar bugging me

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by TomGolden, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. TomGolden macrumors member

    TomGolden

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    El Dorado county, CA
    #1
    When I run Yahoo! Messenger on my MBP, once the number of lines of the chat session fills the window, then each time I or the other person types anything, the window automatically scrolls back to the very first line, and I am always having to scroll back to the bottom to see what the other person said. I can't find anyway to make the darn window remain on the last line that was typed. That's how it works on every Windows system I have ever used....

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
  4. TomGolden thread starter macrumors member

    TomGolden

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    El Dorado county, CA
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Never had that happen to me before. I don't know what to say.
     
  6. efmchico macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #6
    Safari

    Do you have the safari 3 beta installed? This happened to me after I installed the safari beta. I uninstalled the beta and it worked like it should again.

    Hope this helps

    Ernie
     
  7. ozontheroad macrumors 6502

    ozontheroad

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    the reef
    #7
    i'll second that, much better than MSN and Yahoo messengers.

    i'm a recent switcher to Adium and love it.

    if you need voice or video use Skype. You should also check out Jajah for phone calls.
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    I have some other things happen but just try changing the size of the window before you get to that point. I use a fairly small, wide window for conversations.

    Unfortunately, at the rate they're going, they'll have parity with the current Windows version by 2010, possibly. I don't even care about the voice calling. I'd just like the previous Yahoo! Messenger capabilities to work correctly in version 3.0 at this point. The Windows version is quite nice.
     
  9. TomGolden thread starter macrumors member

    TomGolden

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    El Dorado county, CA
    #9
    Yep, I sure do have this installed. I will try uninstalling it tonight and see if that works.

    Thanks for the suggestion!!
     
  10. TomGolden thread starter macrumors member

    TomGolden

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    El Dorado county, CA
    #10
    Ok, so how do I go about uninstalling Safari Beta 3??
     
  11. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #11
    Run the bundled installer. It has an option to uninstall safari 3 beta and roll back to safari 2.
     
  12. Cole Slaw macrumors 6502a

    Cole Slaw

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    This annoying issue happens with me, too.
    But only after I installed Safari 3.
     

Share This Page