yellow traffic light buttons???

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by griff69, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. griff69, Feb 15, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011

    griff69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #1
    I have a mac at work, Mac osx Mac Pro 10.6.6 3.2ghz quad core. Its using a dell monitor. For some reason this morning i have turned on and some of my icons and the traffic light buttons have gone yellow. I now have a yellow hue to things???? on the dock some of the icons have gone yellow. Any help? The only thing i have done is last night before close down we plugged a ipad in??

    Thanks
     
  2. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #2
    1. To know what kind of Mac you have choose "about this Mac" from the Apple menu

    2. Either (assuming that everything has a yellow hue):
    - your monitor lost its colour profile: check settings in the monitor
    - MacOSX lost its colour calibration settings: check the setting in OSX's system preferences
    - your monitor is broken: try to connect the monitor to another computer and check

    3. Use a more descriptive thread title because I landed here by accident and people are more likely to click on a thread they think they can help with
     
  3. griff69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #3
    Thanks i have updated the thread, i have tried another monitor and its the same. I have played with setting but no different. An example is the tail that wraps around the firefox icon is now yellow? any offers?
     
  4. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #4
    I vaguely remember someone having similar issues here before. Try to search the forums.

    Things which come to the top of my mind:
    - GPU related
    - OSX's QuartzCore engine: perhaps try permission repair.

    Another test to figure out whether it is HW or SW, try booting from the OSX installer DVD. If the screen shows the same problems, it is HW related.
     
  5. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #5
    Try using a different cable to connect the monitor as well (if you haven't already).
     
  6. griff69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #6
    cable

    the mac monitor runs through a lyndy spliter i just swopped the ports and its perfect, great suggestion i can not thank you enough i will now take the failed component and vent upon it my anger with a hammer regards
     

Share This Page