YES! 3.2.1 fixes Safari

Discussion in 'iPad' started by yoavcs, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #1
    Page cache bug fixed. No more spurious page reloading. Awesome!
     
  2. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Don't believe it. Sorry. Especially if you just updated. Run a few apps etc etc, and then open pages. I'm not updating and losing my jailbreak. No sir!

    But hey, I'd like to believe it fixes the Safari bug. But I doubt it...
     
  3. yoavcs thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #3
    Oh ye of little faith. Fix it, it does indeed.
     
  4. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Well I'll wait and hear what others have to say on it. :) Excuse my skepticism.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    yep its sorted. it does reload like the ip4 does when you have loads of pages open with heavy picture content but for normal every day stuff no reloads!
     
  6. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #6
    I didn't believe it but it's true. I just loaded nine tabs and they're all still there. No reloads upon returning to any of them.

    Engadget
    YouTube
    Daring Fireball
    Irish Times
    Macrumors
    MacOSXHints
    AppShopper
    Reddit
    GDGT

    Not light sites. Engadget pretty much always used to clear the other tabs.
     
  7. ijen0311 macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #8
    Oh dear Lord/Buddha/Steve/Allah I hope this is true.
     
  8. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Want to hear more on this!

    I want it to be true!
     
  9. timotheezz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    SWEET!! this whole time I thought it was because of the lack of RAM! I hope it fixed the whole "connecting" wifi issue as well.
     
  10. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #11
    Does this also improve other browsers like atomic etc which basically use safari as the core don't they?well webkit anyway?
     
  11. marcovortex macrumors member

    marcovortex

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #12
    I can also confirm this to be true! So happy they could make this change with only 256mb of ram...
     
  12. pooryou macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #13
    Probably were relying on RAM in cases when they should have been saving things to to flash drive.
     
  13. yoavcs thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #14
    The bug wasn't in WebKit, it was a wrong setting of the size of the cache in Safari itself. Other browsers were never affected, but we are happy since now we can use Safari: those other browsers look like something a Windows shareware programmer would create... blech.
     
  14. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #15
    I played some music, checked a Twitter app, opened the BBC app, watched a video and went back to Safari. The page that was waiting was still loaded, but the other pages were flushed.

    Still impressive though. I've never been able to open more than four pages without reloads.
     
  15. kultschar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
  16. BruiserBear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #17
    This is really exiting news. I have been annoyed by this problem from day one. Can't wait til 4.0 hits the iPad as well.
     
  17. shakenmartini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #18
    But I thought the Macrumors trolls were CONVINCED that the iPad had too little RAM and there was no way a software fix could improve page caching! :confused:

    Same thing on my end, page caching is much improved.
     
  18. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #19
    So does the iPad not refresh pages AT ALL for you any more? Even for extended periods of time? I'm asking because I only jailbroke my iPad on 3.0 to get the Safari caching fix.
     
  19. ijen0311 macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #20
    It definitely hasn't fixed the issue. I've got open 3 windows, none of which are "intensive," and it reloads. Bummer. :mad:
     
  20. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #21
    It may indeed stop those annoying 'why 256mb ram' and 'iPad 2 refresh by september' type threads.. :D



    (for about 5 minutes)
     
  21. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #22
    Try holding it in your right hand.
     
  22. Crosbie macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #23
    Hit and miss here. Certainly reloads when returning to the app from another app. And reloaded tabs that were left open from before, of course.
     
  23. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #24
    You just restarted your iPad after an update of course the cache is clear.

    Mines already back to reloading after using it a bit.
     
  24. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #25
    For such a "modern" OS, iOS has horrible cache and memory management. Terrifyingly horrific.
     

Share This Page