Yes, again...iMac: now or when?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by imanidiot, Jul 4, 2014.

1. imanidiot Suspended

I realize that this has been addressed in various guises several or many? times, but here goes.

I have a mid-2010 refresh basic 21'5 iMac. My first Mac, my first venture into the Apple system. After 25 years of Windows-only experience, the best thing I ever did. However, my iMac is almost 4 years old. Spinning hard drive. You know what I mean. My needs are pretty basic. I'm a writer, I've learned to find Pages acceptable (not the new Pages, but the Pages of iWork of '09). Other than creating text files, I surf, email, a (very) little editing in iMovie, and of course, iPhono. In other words, I'm not dong spreadsheets, crunching numbers, doing audio or video editing, etc.

My iMac chugs right along; but at the end of this month, it will be 4 years old. I was hoping that when the announcement was made a week ago, about the "new iMac", that it would be a fleet-wide upgrade. But of course it was not. I am thinking about replacing my machine, but I don't know if I should simply do it now or wait until the fall, when the entire line might be refreshed. I know, I know; this forum is overrun with these sorts of threads. But if anyone would wish to chime in, I would very much appreciate it. Basically, (to encapsulate): my almost 4 year-old iMac is still performing very well. But I am anticipating problems. Replace now, or wait until the next iMac itineration (assuming there is one, i.e. if Apple abandons the desktop thing completely, which I think is a distinct possibility).

Thank you for your patience.

2. FreemanW, Jul 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014

FreemanW macrumors 6502

Given your post . . . . . I would wait until this fall, then see what the new offerings are, and decide if you want to spend for new, or bargain shop the refurbished store to get even bigger bang for your dollar and your modest needs.

My late 2012 is my first Apple.