Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Rhino420

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 9, 2010
Okay I have $1700 dollars to spend on a new mbp... currently have a mb which wife and I share but I need a laptop for me since I am a hobbyist photographer and need a comp to post edit i.e. Photoshop light room those sort of things.. so to my question which should I buy 17" mbp core2duo last years model mc226lla vs the current 15" i5 model? my concerns are..
1. processor that big of a difference
2. graphics cards new vs last year
3. anything else you guys can give me insight in why I choose one over the other? do I need the 17" or is the 15" going to be fine for editing ? any info would be very very helpful guys. thanks so much. and sorry for another one of those which mac to buy.

Pentad

macrumors 6502a
Nov 26, 2003
Indiana
That is a tough one..... Some things to consider:

1. 17" has 1920 x 1200 resolution which is better than the 15" model for editing photos.

2. The 15" has the i5 core when will be faster in Photoshop, et al.

3. Does the 17" have a warranty or Apple Care? I guess I wasn't sure if it was used by your post.

4. I think it comes down to screen resolution vs speed.

IMHO, I would want screen-real-estate over speed but its a tough call. I do lots of Photoshop (CS5) work and 1920 x 1200 is pretty nice as most notebooks don't offer that size of screen.

Good Luck!

-P

Rhino420

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 9, 2010
That is a tough one..... Some things to consider:

1. 17" has 1920 x 1200 resolution which is better than the 15" model for editing photos.

2. The 15" has the i5 core when will be faster in Photoshop, et al.

3. Does the 17" have a warranty or Apple Care? I guess I wasn't sure if it was used by your post.

4. I think it comes down to screen resolution vs speed.