yes... Another newbie asking for help on a decision for a macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iByrd441, Jun 7, 2010.

1. iByrd441 macrumors newbie

I have been lurking on this site like a madman.. I plan to purchase my first mac machine. I am looking at a macbook pro, still trying to decide whether a 13 or 15 inch screen.

I do not play games nor do I have space in my apt for an external monitor. I am an amateur photographer and I will use either Aperture 3 or Photoshop (looking forward to try out Aperture) just to do basic editing (my skills are improving though). I will surf the net, use itunes etc. I do not watch movies nor do I travel often (approx 3 times a year to far destinations).

This will be my only computer (I will give my current hp laptop to my fiancee).
    I am currently using a 16" diagonal display and I can go a bit smaller.

What do you think is the best macbook pro for me?

2. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

Ronnoco

Since you are using this as a "desktop replacement" have you considered the 17"? I would imagine as a photographer using "Pro" Apps like Aperture and Photoshop screen real estate and a "Hi-Res" display would be important...otherwise, the base 15" sounds like it would work well for you...

3. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

Bill Gates

If your choices are either a 13" or a 15", definitely go for the 15", preferably the high-res antiglare. The extra resolution will come in handy for your work, and will be an acceptable substitute (although an imperfect one) for an external monitor.

4. iByrd441 thread starter macrumors newbie

I did consider the 17 but I personally think that is a bit too big as I usually use my laptop on the bed or table. I am considering the 15", but I am considering if I really do need lots of screen real estate. I never use split screen, so would it make sense to pay an extra $600?

5. iByrd441 thread starter macrumors newbie

cool

6. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

Ronnoco