Yes! I got my first interview.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by xUKHCx, Nov 23, 2007.

1. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

I'm a fourth year University student doing Chemical Engineering with Management and as such am looking for gainful employment for when I finish my course.

So far I have only applied for one job as I spent a lot of time completing the application form as this is the job that I would really love to get, for the following reasons. They have a decent graduate scheme with mentoring to help become chartered. They are based just outside London meaning I can live in London, they do pharmaceutical design (an area I am currently very interested in). As far as salary goes it is a little on the low side (3000 less than others I am interested in) but they offer twice yearly pay reviews and speaking to recent graduates who work for them within a year it will be up to the same level and I am far more interested in getting a job that I will be happy in than doing it just for the money. And the money is pretty good anyway.

I am so pleased to get this interview as I would absolutely love to work for them, plus it would be really nice to get all this job hunting over and done with quickly so I can concentrate on my studies.

Now all I need to do is to find a tie and some smart shoes, as well as read up as much as possible about them so it is fresh in my mind. The only annoying thing is that I have a very big presentation the next day.

In case anyone was wondering the company is Foster Wheeler.

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

good luck. be prepared to talk about projects and any problems and how you handle them.

all my engineering interviews have ALL focused on that

3. xUKHCx thread starter Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

Cheers for the tips, any more are thoroughly welcome.

I'm taking a copy of my design project along and I should have a good speech to make about my research project as well.

4. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816