yes, its the same old MBP vs MB for my mom q.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lurk01, May 5, 2009.

1. lurk01 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

First off, a couple of things,

1. I know this is a rehashed topic, however, it's not one that easily supported by the search function
    2. I paged back more than 10 pages on this subforum researching this topic.
    3. I am new to mac, have been a pc user for more than 15 years.

Now.

I need to buy my mom a new laptop. She is a amateur photographer hobbyist with a Nikon DSLR D700, and she takes her hobby pretty seriously.

I currently have her set up on an Acer 15.4" laptop running Adobe CS4 on XP pro, but it is time for an upgrade, and we have decided to go the mac route. She's a bit of a technophobe, and while i'm rather tech savvy, i know pc's not macs. anyway, as far as i know, graphic design = mac, and mac is supposed to be uber user friendly, so that's what we're doing.

Now, She'll mainly be using CS4, and she will probably also need some software to convert photographs into "slideshow" 1080p movies, maybe in avi format for now, i can always add an external blueray burner later. I'll be adding a 24" screen and cordless mouse & keyboard too. Right now, I'm leaning towards the ACD. Her studio is free of glare issues, and i read bad things about the new Dell displays. She often prints massive canvas photographs as artwork, so i'll need something that I can calibrate pretty true, and the 24" CD fits that profile.

So, the question is,

Do I get her a Macbook Pro 15.4", or will a normal, more portable for travel Macbook 13.3" do?

2. macgrl macrumors 65816

Personally I prefer the MBP for the screen size and if she is going to travel with it and not have access to an external monitor I would go for the MBP:)

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member