Yesterday I Upgraded to Mavericks and downloaded Garageband now Kernel Task is 300%

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rambo66, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. Rambo66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    Yesterday I upgraded to Maverick because I wanted the latest version of Garageband. I then downloaded the Garageband and bought the extra content pack. Now when Garageband tries to download the pack my Kernel Task skyrockets to using 300% of CPU. HELP!!!
     
  2. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #2
    Wait it out. It should calm down soon or at least then Garageband is done downloading.
     
  3. Rambo66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    Nope. Kernel Task still ju

    So, I waited it out and the Garageband extra content downloaded. I checked this morning and the Kernel Task was down, waaaaaaaay down. Right now it's at 2.8

    Now, when I launch Garageband..... Kernel Task 324.8 and Garageband is not responding. Computer is supper slow and lagging.

    ----------

    380.4 now

    ----------

    3453.0 % CPU
    Garageband (Not Responding)
     
  4. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #4
    hmm, now I am really sure about NOT going to Mavericks anytime soon !

    What was wrong with GB on ML ?
     
  5. Rambo66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    I wanted to have the updated Garageband with the new instruments and loops and I was under the impression I needed to upgrade, so I did. NOW, even without Garageband running, I just looked and Kernel Task is 280.4 % of CPU
     
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    Spotlight running? That can run for several hours if a re-index is triggered.
     
  7. Rambo66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
  8. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Can we see a screenshot of Activity Monitor showing what is using the most CPU power?
     

Share This Page