Yet another imac vs. macbook (EE student)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bwb, Aug 19, 2007.

1. bwb macrumors member

Hi, I know this is a common forum question, but I am deciding between a Macbook and an iMac for college. First some background:

I'm a senior undergrad EE student and I'll freely admit I do need a laptop... not so much for around campus (I've never had good luck taking notes with a laptop in class), but off-campus/travelling when I need to work. I currently just have a Dell E1505 laptop (15") as my primary and only machine. Some of the EE software I need doesn't have a windows version, so I would be a big parallels user. I owned an ibook a couple years ago, but it was slow, didn't fit well with my needs, and broke multiple times (logic board failures.. I don't think I mistreated it... the E1505 I've had as long and has yet to fail).

Since Apple has moved to Intel and parallels seems reasonably fast, I'm planning on switching back to a macs... I also want to get an iphone sometime soon. Again, I'm deciding between an imac or a macbook. If I were to get an imac I would keep the E1505 for when I need to give presentations... otherwise I would sell it. The MBP is out of my price range (even if I end up selling my e1505, I wouldn't want to spend that much on a portable)