Yet another question about the iMac versus Macbook Pro, but slightly different

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Forkjulle, Aug 10, 2012.

1. Forkjulle macrumors regular

I've lurked these forums for some time, but this is my first post.

I will be buying my first Mac soon, but I'm waiting for the new iMac (which, I believe, might occur before NASA sends humans to Mars).

I am a professional illustrator who works digitally (Wacom), so I spend all of my time behind the computer. I currently use a 27" Dell UltraSharp (2500px resolution) and am doing fine on my i7 quad core and 6GB RAM. Naturally, I want to migrate to the iMac 27", for obvious reasons (and add some extra RAM if the new ones sticks to the 4GB default).

But I'm intrigued by the Macbook Pro Retina and its high resolution and flash drive technology. I've got my eyes on the 512GB option (since I don't even use more than 500GB on my current desktop). I am not mobile (because I have a desktop), but there are moments when I'd love to work from the lounge or pack my computer and Wacom into the car and take it away with me when the wife and I go away for a weekend. The thought is very appealing, but is it worth the smaller screen?

This is a very calculated call for me, since I can't "borrow" an iMac or Retina to test which I prefer. I can only look at them in the store and go by what friendly folks like you have to say.

The high resolution Retina, according to many posts in these forums, seems to - in a way - trump the 27" lower-res screen. I "could" plug the Retina into my 27" Dell, but would I want to? Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of the Retina purchase?

What would you do? Any thoughts and opinions are helpful. :)

2. comatory macrumors 6502a

comatory

Look up some rental places, in my city it is possible to rent a Mac for few days, it's a bit expensive but for two days its worth it before making large investment.