Yoga Book, Surface 3, or something else?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by ozaz, Oct 1, 2016.

1. ozaz macrumors 65816

I want to buy a laptop/tablet hybrid soon. It will be a light, low-power device that I keep in my bag on a day to day basis and manly use for short periods of note-taking, reading documents, light MS Office work, email, and internet. This will be while travelling and at meetings.

I'm thinking of getting either a Surface 3 or the recently announced Yoga Book.

I've never used a Surface-type device before. My concern with it is how usable is the Surface 3 on your lap or on a back-of-the-seat tray (public transport / train /airplane use)? On the other hand, I do prefer the screen ratio of the Surface 3 (3:2) to the Yoga book (16:10), and the Yoga book 'keyboard' might be a disaster.

Would appreciate any thoughts people have or suggestions for alternative devices.
    I'd rather not get something that costs a lot more than the two devices I'm already considering.

What I want
    - Windows
    - Stylus for notes and annotating documents
    - Light: less than 1kg (2.2 lbs) including keyboard
    - Long battery life

What I don't need
    - High computing power - all my main work will be done on other fully powered computers.

2. tbayrgs macrumors 603

tbayrgs

I'll add another device to your list---Samsung TabPro S. Lighter than a Surface and more usable on your lap, with a smaller footprint while doing so. It's running a core M CPU which is more than enough for your needs and helps contribute to better battery life. Also, the high-res OLED display is terrific. It comes with its attachable keyboard but the stylus is sold separately.

One con when compared to the Surface or Yoga that you only have 2 choices for viewing angle when using the keyboard. That being said, the keyboard feel and trackpad were better than I expected.