Yosemite admin password?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Donfor39, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. Donfor39 macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #1
    i'm sure theres a terminal command to rest my admin password

    just checking that a time machine restore will work this time:D
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I believe if you issue a
    dscl . passwd /Users/username

    That should work.
     
  3. Donfor39 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #3
    $ dscl . passwd /Users/username
    New Password:
    passwd: Invalid Path
    <dscl_cmd> DS Error: -14009 (eDSUnknownNodeName)

    Thanks its not letting me type anything i.e. new password:(
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    You will never see passwords that you type in the terminal.

    It's a security feature for the terminal, so just type your password; it won't be echoed on the screen.
     
  5. Donfor39 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #5
    Thanks why does this happen?

    New Password:
    passwd: Invalid Path
    <dscl_cmd> DS Error: -14009 (eDSUnknownNodeName):eek:
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    If you are typing the command exactly, then you don't have a good file path.
    (Unless your user account really is named "username")
    Code:
    dscl . passwd /Users/username
    Change "username" to your actual user name (which, not by accident, will be the name of your home folder!)
     
  7. Donfor39 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #7
    Thanks all for you help

    I forgot to change the username from admin

    thats my password reset..juts to complete a time machine backup and attempt a restore from aes/hdd

    when I try to connect to aes can the admin username be changed to my own username i.e. iCloud e mail add
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    If you want to change your network access - sure, just go in to your Airport Utility (in your Applications/Utilities folder), and change the network setup for your AES to whatever you like. Just remember that any other devices that use your AES will need to change to that new login for the network.
    I suggest that you have a different password for accessing the settings in the AES, than the usual login to connect to the wireless network. That way, it won't be as simple for someone else to log in to your AES, and change settings.
    Keep in mind that you may not need to access or change wireless settings very often - compared to actually using your wireless network.
     

Share This Page