Yosemite and Bootcamp

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Khedron, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. Khedron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    Has anyone done an upgrade of a Mavericks partition with a Bootcamp partition on the same hard drive?

    Any problems?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I think you are going to have a problem if you try that. Bootcamp won't work if there are more than three partitions on the Mac. You already have the hidden EFI and Recovery partitions, plus the main OS partition, so that makes three and Yosemite would be a fourth. I have seen some work around for this (pre-Yosemite), but have no idea if they would work with Yosemite.
     
  3. abcdefg12345 macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #3
    this is not how it works i have boot camp on Yosemite, recovery and EFI docent affect anything as long as u have one os x partition in your macintosh hd u can use bootcamp to install windows

    thats my macbook pro 13 inch early 2011 with 1 tb HDD (yosemite and windows 8.1) and 120 gb SSD with mavericks

    Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 4.07.19 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 4.07.29 pm.png
    i had mavericks on 1 tb hdd with bootcamp i installed yosemite on top of mavericks didn't affect bootcamp then moved the 1 tb hdd to optical drive bay and installed an SSD in main bay and installed mavericks on it all 3 operating systems are working fine
     
  4. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    Boot Camp and Boot Camp Assistant are completely different things. Boot Camp will work just fine, I have Mavericks, Yosemite and Windows 8 all installed and working right now. I doubt Boot Camp Assistant can make another partition when you have a few partitions already, but you don't ever need to use Boot Camp Assistant to install Windows, just use Disk Utility.

    In my experience, Boot Camp Assistant doesn't like to work with a drive that's been partitioned by anything but itself, Boot Camp doesn't care at all.

    Obviously I didn't upgrade my install of Mavericks, but I don't see why an upgrade would behave any differently. All of this said, have backups!
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I believe the difference here is you are on two different drives. So you are not hitting the partition limit on one drive. If you search around this partition limit issue is fairly well known. Here is a thread where it is discussed and a work around offered. More discussion here.

    I believe you are correct here. Thank you for the clarification.

    Yosemite installs on second partitions are also converting the volume into a core storage volume, and I'm not sure what that will do to Bootcamp. I have read posts like this thread where some are having troubles with it.
     
  6. iF34R, Jul 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014

    iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #6
    I upgraded 10.9 to 10.10, with bootcamp partition on the same drive. No problems for me.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Thanks for the info. I think the problem comes in when you try to make a second partition and install Yosemite there and it makes that into a core storage volume.

    Just curious, did your install over top of Mavs turn the partition info core storage?
     
  8. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #8
    Not sure what you mean here.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    [​IMG]

    Some are reporting the Yosemite install converted the partition from a normal Mac OS Extended partition into a core storage volume. There is a support doc. here on page 7 that talks about it a bit.

    It had been used for Filevault encryption and Fusion drives, but Yosemite seems to be using it on just standard unencrypted installs.

    If you look in Disk Util (screenshot) it will look like this.
     
  10. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #10
    Here ya go:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Ahh.... so it did convert it. Thanks for taking the time to reply. :)
     
  12. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #12
    Is that good or bad, that it converted it?
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    It does not create any issue that I can tell beyond not being able to resize the partition. There was a post in another Yosemite thread where a user reported this to Apple as a bug and they closed his bug report and told him this is by design. He was not told why they did this though.

    I would just leave it alone. Hopefully at some point someone at Apple will reveal the logic behind this.
     
  14. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #14
    10-4. Thanks for the reply.
     
  15. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #15
    I installed Yosemite on a separate partition and lost access to my Boot Camp paprition. I could soo it but could not access it.

    Good news about being able to reinstall Windows without using BootCamp.

    ----------

    Thats not the issue being discussed. If you install Yosemite on a separate partition (thus having 3 partitions) chances are you would lose access to Boot Camp (thats what happened to me and a lot of others!).
     
  16. abcdefg12345 macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #16
    you lost access to boot camp partition because you partitioned a hard drive that has bootcamp installed but if you just upgrade Mavericks to Yosemite or wipe Mavericks partition and clean install Yosemite you shouldn't have any problems with bootcamp

    and if you go to disk utility it gives u a warning that the hard drive is partitioned for Bootcamp and changing the partition map will make windows Unbootable.

    you can only have 2 partitions on a hard drive if you want windows (excluding the boot efi and recovery)
     
  17. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #17
    I know that now, and discovered that when installing Yosemite DP1.
     
  18. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #18
    This is not true across the board, I have three OS partitions right now, one with Mavericks, one with Yosemite and one with Windows 8. They are all working just fine and I had no such warning when partitioning either. I believe I did this years ago too.
     
  19. Fimeg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #19

    You do not need to reinstall, you just need to reconfigure Windows' BCD. If you google bootrec you should find everything you need. It's really simple. Boot from Windows disk, repair computer, get to command prompt, and "bootrec /rebuildbcd", the add "bootrec /fixmbr" and "bootrec /fixboot".
     

Share This Page