Yosemite and Fans

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by roland.g, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #1
    I'm running Yosemite PB4 on a 2012 MacBook Air 1.8 8GB RAM. I've noticed and it hasn't improved with subsequent betas that my fans are running much higher/louder than when I am booted into Mavericks.

    Mavericks, no load, no video fans run sub 2k, and you can't hear them.

    Yosemite, no load, no video fans run 3,800-4,500 on a consistent basis, and you can definitely hear them.

    In Mavericks I'd have to run video for at least 5-10 minutes to get above 4k fan speeds.

    The only thing I can think of other than a Yosemite issue, and I'm not sure what the correlation would be, is that Yosemite is loaded onto a partition on a Seagate 4TB external USB 3.0 drive, where as Mavericks of course runs off the internal drive. Should running the OS off an external cause this?
     
  2. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #2
    I know it's too obvious but is spotlight indexing?
     
  3. roland.g thread starter macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #3
    I don't think so for the amount of time it's done it over several betas. But to be honest because it's tethered to the drive and I use the laptop for a fair amount of other stuff and tote it, I don't boot into 10.10 even on a daily basis. I just haven't had the time to use the Beta as much as I would have hoped.

    I also dislike that Yosemite seems to have broken all my symlinks. In Mavericks I had categorized all my apps and stacked them in the dock via symlinks without alias arrows. Yosemite brought all my alias arrows back. Gotta figure out how to fix that once the official release rolls around and I install it on my MBA and iMac.
     
  4. 5aga macrumors 6502

    5aga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Gig City
    #4
    I've had the fan issue with every PB... usually SMC reset fixes it
     
  5. brucebrendon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page