Yosemite and RAW (.NEF)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by MonkeySee...., Jun 10, 2014.

  1. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I just wanted to see if it was me or Yosemite but I took some pictures this weekend and when putting them on my iMac they show as thumbnails and sometimes even show in Preview but about 99.9% of the time the pic loads up and then goes black when I click to enlarge.

    Other photos that are RAW in iPhoto/Aperture prior to upgrading show up fine.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    What Nikon do you have? Perhaps upload a few?
     
  3. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    Its a Nikon D7000.

    Do you mean upload them here?
     
  4. m4v3r1ck, Jun 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I'm a Canon-ion myself :D but downloaded a few Nikon D3 test .NEF's and they previewed and enlarged just fine in Finder. But since you have a D7000 perhaps the RAW compatibility is not 100%. Had that same issue with the Canon 5Dmk2 and 5Dmk3. So just link me up to a few of your files and let me check for you.

    ~ Cheers
     
  5. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    It's fine with NEFs from my D7000
     
  6. jmazzamj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    No issues with .CR2 files here.
     
  7. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    oh ok. Thanks for the response guys. Seems to be happening with my older .NEF files to.

    mmmmm not sure what to do here :confused:
     
  8. senavinicius macrumors newbie

    senavinicius

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #8
    Hi! I'm facing that same problem. I have a Nikon D5300 and my pictures are crappy, just like the one attached.

    iPhoto is importhing my RAW .nef files with a bug, making them become those black pictures.

    Did you find more information about that? Google doesn't say anything about it, except this thread.

    Thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

  9. senavinicius macrumors newbie

    senavinicius

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #9
    Maybe I could link some files for you to check
     
  10. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    I have a Nikon D200 it does the same to me. Aperture is broken and it looks corrupted when using Quick Look, don't know if it's fixed in DP3 with Quick Look

    Looks like .NEF files are fixed in Quick Look now.
     
  11. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Sure! Beam them up and I'll check them for you.
     
  12. senavinicius macrumors newbie

    senavinicius

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #12
    Oh, I'm sorry!

    I was going to post them for you to see, but i tried to reprecess original raw files and now they started to work again! I'm so happy =D

    Thanks so much!
     
  13. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Np problem, glad it works for you now! Cheers
     
  14. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    This is still not working for me. Both iPhoto and Aperture won't let me Edit them without them going black.

    I can edit them in 3rd party programmes though. Headache!
     
  15. senavinicius macrumors newbie

    senavinicius

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #15
    Editing is a problem to me, too, but I'm pretty sure that'll be fixed soon. Previously I coudn't even see the pictures! I can edit the pictures and they'll only be visible again when I switch back to preview mode (need to exit edition mode)
     
  16. 576316 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #16
    Just to ask, is this causing the files on the memory card/camera to become corrupt or is this just happening to imported files?
     
  17. senavinicius macrumors newbie

    senavinicius

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #17
    No files become corrupt. You just coudn't see them. And the thumbnails created were black, too. But now, with newer versions of Yosemite, you just need to reprocess the raw files and the new generated thumbnails become nice, as the pictures do.

    Now, on beta 4, the only problem is that the whenever you try to edit some picture, it becomes black. Then, when you exit edit mode, it becomes nice again.
     
  18. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Yeah. I can't see it becoming a priority to fix either what with both Aperture and iPhoto becoming EOL soon :(
     
  19. mark.solo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #19
    I'm using iPhoto 11 on Yosemite along with RAW from Sony. The problem exactly as MonkeySee describes.
    Does anyone has found the answer?
     
  20. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    ahhh I don't know whether to stick it out and hope it gets fixed in the next beta or so or go back to Mavericks.

    I can just shoot in jpeg but can't remember if this wass also an issue.
     
  21. MonkeySee.... thread starter macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    I think, think this is now fixed in the recent beta. I only tried it on one pic so I could be wrong but will look more tonight.
     
  22. Jcubed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #22
    I am running Yosemite public beta 2 with a mid-2012 rMBP and all for me low ISO (e.g. 200) RAW files from all my cameras (Nikon D700, Sony NEX-7, Sony a6000) all show up fine but high ISO (e.g. 6400) files from all these cameras fail to show up in both Aperture and Preview.

    In Preview the image turns black and in Aperture the screen says "Unsupported Image Format." I believe this was not an issue in public beta 1, and it was certainly not an issue in Mavericks.

    Can anyone else confirm issues with high ISO RAW files?
     
  23. freddylam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    #23
    I can confirm this.

    Pictures from my Sony NEX-F3 (.ARW) with ISO 2000 or below show up. Those have an ISO 2500 or above show as "unsupported image format".

    JPEG files are fine.

    I'm on Yosemite public beta 2 as well. But I'm not sure if it's a OS issue or it's an Aperture issue.

    I have sent Apple a feedback anyway.

    Glad to see somebody experience the same. Hope it'll get fixed soon.
     
  24. JRS12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #24

    I have had the same problem with Yosemite public beta 2. Raw files from Canon 7D - hadn't checked but may have been only the high ISO ones.

    I'm pretty sure the problem is with the Apples updated Raw Converter. Have fixed my images by going to /system/Library/CoreServices and replacing the both RawCamera.bundle and RawCameraSupport.bundle with older versions (via time machine).
     
  25. Jcubed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #25
    Thanks! I was able to fix the RAW issue by downloading and installing Digital Camera RAW Compatibility Update 5.06. (Since what is in Public Beta 2 is newer, it would not show up in Software Update, but I found it online on Softpedia.)
     

Share This Page