OS X Yosemite and WoW

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Yaboze, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Yaboze macrumors 6502a

    Yaboze

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    The Garden State
    #1
    I mainly play WoW on my Windows PC, but I do have it installed on my MBP in case I want to play on the go.

    I recently updated the game with the new WoD patch and was running around Stormwind with the normal so-so FPS (20-30 in a busy area with vsync on) at 1080p (external LCD).

    Well, after my Yosemite update last night, I ran around Stormwind again, with the same graphics settings and it was 46-47 FPS. Much better!

    Remember this isn't on the MBP's native LCD res, but on an external 1920x1080 LCD.

    Diablo 3 seemed about the same, maybe slightly slightly better.
     
  2. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #2
    Yup, I've mentioned it plenty of times. Yosemite offers much better drivers and OpenGL performance. :)

    In Hitman Absolution minimum FPS more than doubled.

    I can also run Borderlands The Pre-Sequel 100% maxed out at 3440x1440 without a hitch. Even when recording footage.

    It's such a good OS, and I hope Apple continue improving their graphics performance.
     
  3. Alx9876 macrumors 6502a

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #3
    I had the same fear going into Yosemite and I can tell you that even on my i7 2010 iMac with 32 gigs of ram. WOW plays very nicely. Better than it had previously in Mavericks, Mt Lion, etc..

    My entire CPU overall is running better. This OS is just solid. I play WOW at 1440p high settings with the 5750 graphics card.
     
  4. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #4
    You have Borderlands 2, right? Have you noticed a difference in FPS between 2 and the Presequel??
     
  5. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #5
    Well I can 100% max out The Pre-Sequel at 3440x1440 without so much as a dip in FPS that's noticeable.

    According to Aspyr they both use the exact same engine and OpenGL stack and say performance is almost identical, but it certainly plays smoother than 2 did for me.
     
  6. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #6
    So, Borderlands 2 requires 10.8.3, while the Pre-Sequel requires 10.9.2.

    This would lead one to believe that the OS requirements are because of graphics support that's changed?

    Maybe someone at Aspyr can chime in with some clarity on what OpenGL version it requires. If Pre-Sequel uses OpenGL 4.1 in OS X, then it would explain the performance difference. If 10.10 introduces further OpenGL 4.1 optimizations (and it would seem so, based on our anecdotal evidence) , then things look good for all OpenGL 4.1 games in OS X 10.10.

    Do you run both games at unlimited framerate in graphics settings?
     
  7. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #7
    Um, Steam lists the minimum requirements for the Pre-Sequel at 10.9.5 for me.

    [​IMG]

    Also yes, I do run the games at unlimited FPS. Always do.

    Also 10.10 doesn't have better openGL it's still the same 4.1 with some 4.2 features, but what seems better if GPU drivers over all.
     
  8. Pilon macrumors member

    Pilon

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    #8
    Going to try WOW again probably tomorrow after nearly a year off, used to play on a PC until it died, but now I have a Mac mini, this could be interesting.
     
  9. Bodie CI5 macrumors member

    Bodie CI5

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    #9
    I'll be buying a 27" iMac soon (either retina or the 780M version, we'll see), and this thread is a champion! Thanks for the heads up!
     
  10. Kallimer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    There's indeed a conflict between WoW patch 6.0.2 and OSX 10.10 Yosemite on some configurations.

    My framerate dropped 6-fold and game became virtually unplayable since I've upgraded to Yosemite.

    Issue reported here (US) and here (EU).

    Hope they fix it soon, no idea if on the mac or blizzard side.
     
  11. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #11
    I can confirm that WoW (after this latest big patch) performs poorly in Yosemite, even while it's running on a powerful Mac, at least on some configurations.

    However, WoW's graphics are in a transitional state. They have upgraded the engine, but this is not the final version according to blizzard (for example, they are about to make some big changes concerning the antialiasing).

    Long story short, the graphics quality (which is bad even in highest settings) cannot justify the frame rate.
     
  12. Kallimer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Italy
  13. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #13
    I have the late-2013 maxed out iMac (3tb fusion) and WoW is performing better in-game, but randomly crashing on me. Maybe twice since I installed Yosemite.....which never ever happened prior.

    The Mac WoW team is pretty good and dedicated to getting issues resolved so hopefully now that Yosemite is out and 6.0.2 is out (both the same week which no doubt probably caused issues) I expect them to get it taken care of soon.
     
  14. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #14
    I installed Yosemite this morning on my late-2013 27" iMac and WoW is running fine here. It was already running smoothly on ultra at 1440p and I don't see any difference playing now. I just did the new quest content in Blasted Lands with my 90 druid and no issues. Seems fine fortunately.
     
  15. Irishman, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014

    Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #15
    I read the comparative OS requirements off the MAS pages for each game.

    We have our very first Borderlands the Pre-Sequel controversy!
     

Share This Page