yosemite bootable dvd-r DL, what am i doing wrong?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by sundog925, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. sundog925 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    #1
    burned a DVDR-DL disc with the installESD.dmg file after i right clicked on 'show package contents' on the Yosemite installer.
    burn finished.
    restarted comp holding down option key and couldn't boot from cd i just burned.

    did i miss a step? frustrated i may have wasted a DL DVDR.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It's possible that Apple has removed support for booting 10.10 from optical media.
     
  3. tywebb13, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #3
    Not really. But don't just burn the InstallESD.dmg to the dvd. That won't work (as sundog925 found out the hard way).

    Do it this way instead.

    After downloading the full Yosemite installer app from the Mac App Store, run these 14 commands in Terminal to create a Yosemite.iso file and then burn it to a dual layer DVD with Disk Utility. You may then boot up from it by holding the option key down and then install Yosemite.

    hdiutil attach /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ Yosemite.app/Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg -noverify -nobrowse -mountpoint /Volumes/install_app

    hdiutil convert /Volumes/install_app/BaseSystem.dmg -format UDSP -o /tmp/Yosemite

    hdiutil resize -size 8g /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage

    hdiutil attach /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage -noverify -nobrowse -mountpoint /Volumes/install_build

    rm /Volumes/install_build/System/Installation/Packages

    cp -rp /Volumes/install_app/Packages /Volumes/install_build/System/Installation/

    cp -rp /Volumes/install_app/BaseSystem.chunklist /Volumes/install_build

    cp -rp /Volumes/install_app/BaseSystem.dmg /Volumes/install_build

    hdiutil detach /Volumes/install_app

    hdiutil detach /Volumes/install_build

    hdiutil resize -size `hdiutil resize -limits /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage | tail -n 1 | awk '{ print $1 }'`b /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage

    hdiutil convert /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage -format UDTO -o /tmp/Yosemite

    rm /tmp/Yosemite.sparseimage

    mv /tmp/Yosemite.cdr ~/Desktop/Yosemite.iso



    ------------------------------------------------------------

    EDIT: sundog925's quote below contains an error which I can't edit out. Use instructions in this post, not that quoted one.
     
  4. sundog925 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    #4
    this is for the one released today right, not the BETA? I have Beta 5 on it now.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  6. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #6
    Yes. It should work for today's version.

    I had to edit my post before and you were very quick to quote me.

    ----------

    No need.

    There is a better way for that here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1801963
     
  7. 3282868 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #7
    Worked like a charm! Thanks so much! My USB 3 drive crapped out on my this morning, thankfully I have an external Blu-Ray USB 3 drive hooked up to my nMac Pro, hopefully this will install via DVD. :)
     
  8. tywebb13, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #8
    Note that unlike the mavericks dvd made with very similar commands, the yosemite dvd DOES create a recovery partition.

    However more often than not, the installer creates core storage logical volumes and it needs to be reverted for the recovery partition to show up in the startup manager you get when starting up with the option key.

    You can revert it to get partitions back to normal by running these 2 commands in terminal.

    diskutil cs list

    and then

    diskutil coreStorage revert lvUUID

    where lvUUID is the last lvUUID reported by the previous Terminal command.

    Then restart for everything to get back to normal after you have run these commands in Terminal.
     
  9. Stridder44, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014

    Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    For whatever reason, Terminal seems to lock up at this step :confused:

    EDIT: Nevermind, apparently it just takes a little bit to complete. As someone with an old early '08 MBP whose optical drive has long since died/been replaced, THANK YOU!
     
  10. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #10
    Yes. You have to wait a bit for it to move stuff sometimes.

    Beware too that a dvd will take much longer than a usb to boot up.

    If you prefer it to boot up faster, maybe making a bootable usb will be better.

    I put instructions for the usb here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1801963
     

Share This Page