Yosemite Dual Boot

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by robkat, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. robkat macrumors member

    robkat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Partitioned my hard drive and loaded Yosemite on new partition. When booting with option key held, Mavericks no longer an option. Can someone suggest what I have done wrong please.:confused:
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Open up the Disk Utility to see how many partitions are showing up. Do you see the Mavericks partition?
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Command-r boot to recovery and from there click the Apple at the top left then select Startup Disk and choose the Mavs partition then restart. From then on you should be able to see both when you option key boot.
     
  4. robkat thread starter macrumors member

    robkat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Thanks for the replies. Disc utilities shows both partitions but only boots to Yosemite. Will try the command r boot and see what happens. cheers
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Did the recovery method work?

    There were other threads about how Yosemite messed with other partitions, I wonder if this is the case here.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I got in the public beta and had planned to install Yosemite on an external drive just to learn about it, but all these reports of messing with partitions has scared me off of doing this with my only Mac.
     
  7. robkat thread starter macrumors member

    robkat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    I now have Yosemite Beta working on an external drive. just use command-r on start up to chose OS.
     

Share This Page