Yosemite has problems! Please help!

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by RedPenguinGB, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. RedPenguinGB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #1
    Just installed OS X 10.10 a.k.a. Yosemite and now it is not working properly!
    Messages and FaceTime crash with a window saying:
    "Internal Error" or something like that!
    Please help
     
  2. April Knight Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    #2
    Reinstall.

    Also, I should probably amend that to "Reinstall Mavericks."
     
  3. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #3
    It's a Developer Preview so there will be issues like this.

    I suggest a reinstall or go back to Mavericks.
     
  4. RedPenguinGB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #4
    The problem is that I don't wan't to lose all my files....
     
  5. April Knight Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    #5
    Do you have a Time Machine backup or some other way of saving your files? This is stuff you should have figured out before installing beta software.
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    Why did you put a first beta on your production machine? Why didn't you do a fresh install on any new version of OS X?
     
  7. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
  8. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #8
    Sometimes you just have to learn the hard way.
     
  9. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #9
    Just restore them from your Time Machine backup.
     
  10. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  11. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
    #11
    If no backup i suggest to man up and deal with it, beta 2 most of the time its a big improvement.
     
  12. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    "Don't Blame It On The Boogie!"

    Losing disks/files without proper back-up? "Don't Blame It On The Boogie!" :p

    ----------

    and. many. more. to. come.! :rolleyes:
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Always, back up before doing any sort of upgrade, more so when you're installing beta.
     
  14. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #14
    Oh God. Apple has gone full retard! They release a DP which crashes! Who does that?!
    Oh.. wait....


    Actually I have messed up one of my Macbook Pro. But I knew what I was signing up for. :)

    I left it to recover over night from a TM hosted on my server and id didn't boot in the morning... So probably - remove the SSD - plug it in another mac - and reinstall from there.

    Again - I was expecting stuff like this.

    I do hope Apple will find a little bit better way to try to handle backup restore process - seems very clumsy for Server TM drives.
    I had some issues with connecting to them.

    I Hate and Love Yosemite.
    I hate that I don't have patience for at least DP2 :) (Dp4 and Dp5 tend to be much better).
    Somehow the look feels better than I expected on the Mac.

    Cheers guys.
    I am not native English speaker but I think there is a saying in US:
    Whiners are wieners

    Isn't it?
     
  15. iMacBooked macrumors 6502a

    iMacBooked

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    4 8 15 16 23 42 ✈ Country: Belgium
    #15
    If you're that worried of losing your files, you shouldn't have installed a beta version at all to start with. And certainly not without a good back-up. If I were you I would revert back to Mavericks. I know were all excited about Yosemite, but if you don't have a spare device, I wouldn't go for beta's, but that's just me.
     
  16. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  17. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #17
    Just like everyone has said, it's imperative to make a back up of your good OS installation before upgrading to a beta or even a new release of a non-beta.

    Plus it's advisable to put a beta release on a separate partition, or a separate drive or a computer that doesn't have your important and needful stuff on it.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    Many developers clone their internal drive before applying the beta. A Backup is great, no question but having a bootable clone is better imo. Also installing the beta on an external drive is something that has advantages as well :)
     
  19. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #19
    That's what my plan is when I get the public beta email. I'm going to use the SSD I removed over the weekend from the MBP to run it. Total coincidence, but the timing was perfect for the upgrade and now the new OS coming out to beta.
     
  20. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #20
    OS X 10.9.3 & OS X 10.10 DP1 SSD's: best of both worlds.

    I did a clean install on a separate SSD and used migration assistant to migrate my whole production SSD to it. For me the best way to test the new OS X. When done testing/tweaking/troubleshooting - I keep a logbook - I restart and boot to my production SSD and carry on!

    OS X 10.9.3 & OS X 10.10 DP1 SSD's: best of both worlds.

    ~ Cheers
     
  21. jmazzamj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #21
    Bootable backups are my general rule for backups, especially before trying a new OS X version.
     
  22. iPhail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #22
    Sounds like your Mac is still bootable. Just plug in an external hard drive, backup what you need, then use Internet Recovery and format / blow away Yosemite.

    Alternatively, if you made a TimeMachine backup, restore that instead.
     
  23. zipa macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #23


    Why?



    Oh well, enjoy it.
     
  24. iJcaP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #24
    Instructions on Reinstalling Mavericks from a proper backup?
     
  25. Felasco Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #25
    Always put a link to such wise advice right at the beginning of the installer, so that five minutes of work at Apple can prevent so many such sad tales every_single_year, except that when you really think about it that would be wrong, Wrong, SO VERY WRONG!!!
     

Share This Page