Yosemite Instant Hotspot.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Lornaevo, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. Lornaevo macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    So, after watching the Keynote, this is one of the features that has me intrigued. The way it seems, is that this won't affect your tethering usage as he mentioned no configuration needed. I do own a macbook, but use android. If this works as I think, I'll actually switch back to ios.
     
  2. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #2
    I'm wondering the same. The demo made it seem as if you don't need to set anything up with your carrier in order to share your iOS device's data connection. But I don't see why carriers would allow that, since they derive income from it.
     
  3. yeldarbnamdlog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #3
    I can't see carriers allowing Facetime to audio call cell/mobile numbers either, but I'm sure Apple have it figured out.
     
  4. SuperRob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #4
    They specifically said that it would work if the tethering feature on your phone was enabled by the carrier, so it is dependent.

    The innovation here is that you don't need to turn tethering on in your phone's settings ... Handoff takes care of sharing the data between the devices to get the access it needs.

    It's similar to the feature they added to Apple TV where you can tap your phone on the device and it configures the WiFi settings automatically, so I suspect Handoff is a Bluetooth LE / iBeacon implementation.
     
  5. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #5
    That is correct. It negotiates the hotspot. But your phone and carrier must already be setup for it and allow it. There is a disclaimer note on the OS X Yosemite pages as to this.

    From bottom of OS X Yosemite page: Mac + iOS tab.

    http://www.apple.com/osx/preview/mac-and-ios/

    Features are subject to change. Some features may not be available in all regions or all languages.
    Additional charges may apply when using your device’s cellular network.
    *Check with your carrier for hotspot availability.

    I assume it works with iPads as well. I have a Verizon iPad Mini that I hotspot on rare occasion. But my grandfathered unlimited AT&T iPhone plan does not allow for hotspots and I don't see this changing with 10.10.
     
  6. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #6
    Per notes, the phone must have carrier tethering program. The method in Yosemite is just an easier process to initiate the tethering.
     
  7. Lornaevo thread starter macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #7
    Thanks Guys. There clears it up. I do have tethering enabled.
     
  8. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #8
    i dont understand, if im going with my macbook at starbucks lets say, and if there is somebody there with ios8, i can charge his data plan?? I think a password is still required
     
  9. BaldiMac macrumors 604

    BaldiMac

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #9
    No. I assume this feature will only work if you are logged in with the same iCloud ID on both devices. Otherwise, you will have to initiate the Personal Hotspot the same way as earlier versions. Same thing with the Continuity features.
     
  10. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #10
    Both the computer and iOS device must be tied to the same iCloud account. I noticed last night that just connecting my iPhone to my Mac triggered the instant hotspot, even though I had a fully functional WiFi connection already.
     
  11. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #11
    Wait.
    You have device which has mobile data connection. How could possibly your carrier stop you from forwarding mobile data to another device via Wifi, BT or any other protocol? There is no way they could even see that you are tethering. Unless of course there is a some sort of strict config you need to follow to enable tethering on iOS without any hacking, can't say for sure as I'am not using iOS, but that would seem illogical and silly and it would be OS limitation, not carrier's.
     
  12. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #12
    let me understand, so hotspot has priority ??
     
  13. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #13
    That I'm not sure of. I had just updated my iPhone to iOS 8, and the hotspot was turned back on during the install process. When I get home this evening, I'll turn the hotspot back on and see if the computer automatically connects to it again.
     
  14. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #14
    yes plz...because its a bug if hotspot have priority over wifi
     
  15. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #15
    It's probably not using it, even if it's connected somewhat.
     
  16. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  17. dc52nv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #17
    This is the main reason I'm sticking with my jailbreak on my 5S. I am grandfathered in with AT&T for unlimited data and use MyWi to occasionally use it to connect my MBP while on the go.
     
  18. dmccloud, Jun 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014

    dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #18
    I just had a chance to test it. Yosemite does see the iPhone and lists it as an available connection without me turning on the hotspot option on the phone itself. However, it DOES NOT connect automatically. Including a screenshot (network names removed) to illustrate what Yosemite sees. I was surprised that cell signal strength and network type were relayed to the computer.

    One other interesting note: if you turn the hotspot option on from the phone itself, Yosemite sees it listed with the other WiFi networks in the area instead of the Personal Hotspots section as shown in the two images below.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. lgdias macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #19
    Can't make it work between my macbook air and my iphone 5 (no LTE) :(
     

Share This Page