Yosemite or El Captain for Photographers?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mermaid2010, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. mermaid2010 macrumors member

    mermaid2010

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a late 2011 13" MBPro running LION. I Just bought 16GB RAM as I was going to upgrade to Yosemite and the extra RAM was recommended. But have been thinking that it may be better to wait until El Capitan ios because of problems with Adobe CC on Yosemite. Any photographers artists out there any thoughts on this or experience you have been having with Yosemite and Adobe CC. I use Photoshop and Lightroom with lots of plug ins from Topaz and such like.
     
  2. Cardsnk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #2
     
  3. davehutch macrumors 6502a

    davehutch

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Croxley, Herts
    #3
    Although I can't answer specifically about the Plugin, Lightroom and Photoshop CC have been fine for me on Yosemite.
    I edit Fuji RAF files of about 23MB each
     
  4. MallardDuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #4
    Ditto - 10.10 works just fine. And if the past is any prediction, you won't want 10.11 until at least March!
     
  5. AroundTheFur922 macrumors member

    AroundTheFur922

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    I use PS, LR, & AE and have no issues with any of them. Granted I do not use third party plugins.
     
  6. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I don't see any problems with Adobe CS6. CS6 have been raping my rMBP everyday.
     
  7. mermaid2010 thread starter macrumors member

    mermaid2010

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    #7
    Thanks, that's a good point give the next one breathing space!
     
  8. mermaid2010 thread starter macrumors member

    mermaid2010

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    #8
    Thank you everyone for your replies, I went to Mac shop yesterday 16gb ram in and he convinced me to upgrade to a SSD which I'll get off CRUCIAL and he will clean install Yosemite at same time for me. Says it's the biggest efficient upgrade I can do which will keep me going for a while.
     
  9. Kristine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Yes, SSD will give significant performance difference.
     
  10. kave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Never a good idea to run critical applications on a brand new system, go with yosemite or mavericks.
     
  11. WCWcam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Location:
    Alberta
    #11
    I have used all the programs you have listed with both El Captain and Yosemite. Yosemite will give absolutely no problems. The only issue have have found is that when you change over to El Captain, you may have to reenter all your passwords to turn on your plugins for Topaz. If you run Autopano Giga. Then Kolor NeutralHazer 1.0.2 plugin will crash Photoshop CS6 and CC. This is the only issue that El Captain appears to cause.
     
  12. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #12
    Os X Mountain Lion or Mavericks if you are serious about your work.
     
  13. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Yep. I'm still rocking Mountain Lion with no plans on changing any time soon.

    I want the hardware of my machine to be dedicated to my applications (Photoshop and Lightroom), not a spec hungry operating system (I'm looking at you Yosemite).
     
  14. MCAsan, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2015

    MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #14
    Ran El Capitain Beta for months with CC2015.1 and Perfect Photo Suite 9.5. Not the first problem. Upgraded to El Capitain GM and then public release....again without any problems. Then came CC 2015.2....that release is a face plant if ever a company did one. I have not had any crashes. But plugins would not be listed correctly. On1 yesterday released a patch so that PPS 9.5 again appears as plugins. I did not see any direct benefit from yesterday's Adobe patch CC2015.2.1. This so for others.

    The LR import dialog remains a total cluster. So I have not had LR problems with Yosemite or El Capitain. The major problems are with Adobe.
     

Share This Page