Yosemite + Parallels

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by UncleSchnitty, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    I installed Yosemite on an external HDD and Im wondering if anyone knows how to create a new VM off that HDD that I can run in mavericks? Basically I want to run Yosemite in Mavericks much like I do with windows (but I also like the idea of being able to boot into it directly if I want. Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #2
    As of right now, Parallels doesn't support creating a VM of Yosemite. Per the Parallels forums, they are working on getting Yosemite to load in a VM, but there is no ETA on when that will be ready. Some people have reported success installing a Mavericks VM in Parallels, then upgrading it to Yosemite - you just can't install it as a brand-new VM either from the installer or an existing partition. One interesting thing: Parallels does run on Yosemite without any major issues even though it can't install it as a VM at this time.
     
  3. UncleSchnitty thread starter macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #3
    Thats a shame I feel like I would be more inclined to test Yosemite in-depth if I could run it in VM.
    Maybe I will try to make a mavericks VM then upgrade it. Im just want to keep the DP away from my mavericks SSD. I just started using parralells and was surprised at how easily it merged with my bootcamp windows 8.1 HDD but it doesn't look like there is an easy way to do it with OS X
     
  4. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #4

    It doesn't work in parallels, i got Yosemite installed into VMWare though! Very laggy but works fine.
     
  5. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #5
    Works in Parallels, upgraded from 10.9... but its dock is really ugly :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. UncleSchnitty thread starter macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #6
    How did you get it to work? Did you run a mavericks install and then after that was up just run the installer for yosemite?

    and yes the dock is pretty ugly imo but I'm sure i will get used to it. If you put it on the left side you can actually see the transparency and its not as terrible.
     
  7. Jasoco macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #7
    By the time they get it working in Parallels, the Public Beta will be ready and I won't even need to use Parallels anymore.

    I tried installing Mavericks first but it kept freezing first when I tried installing the Parallels Tools, and second when I decided not to install the Tools but then went right to the Yosemite install. It would then freeze when trying to boot up Yosemite.

    So I guess I have to wait for the Beta.
     
  8. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #8
    I installed fresh 10.9.3 without parallels tools then upped it to 10.10 DP1 but I'm not really sure if the tool are working in 10.10 :confused: I just installed it in parallels to see if it worked as I have 10.10 on a 2008 MBP I can mess around with
     
  9. UncleSchnitty thread starter macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #9
    I have 10.10 installed on an old firewire drive, its just a pain to log out restart and log in just to mess around with the few new features. Its also a pain because I have a non EFI graphics card so when Yosemite crashes its a pain to change it back to my primary boot drive.
     
  10. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #10
    I have a non EFI graphics card too... an XFX 6870 :eek: One reason why I still have 10.9 on my Mac Pro until I can be bothered to swap them out. Gonna wait for DP2
     
  11. UncleSchnitty thread starter macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #11
    I am going to stay away from installing it on my main drive till the final release. I steer clear of betas. I am surprised that its as stable as it is though but then again Mavericks was exceptionally stable on launch
     
  12. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #12
    I have used 10.4, 10.5, 10.6, 10.7, 10.8 and 10.9 previews and have never really had any issues other than minor things such as a few broken apps :cool:
     
  13. arnoz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Lausanne
    #13
    Did the same to install Yosemite but just like with 10.9.3, Parallels' video driver doesn't work so the resolution is **** and many graphical effects are removed which gives the ugly dock etc.
    Still it's been release like a week ago so we can wait a bit for Parallels to update their drivers.
     
  14. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)

Share This Page