Yosemite performance regression (?)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by spinlud, Oct 12, 2014.

  1. spinlud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #1
    Hi there!

    I've just installed last yosemite beta for curiosity, coming from mountain lion (i didn't switch to mavericks).

    I've noticed an overall slower response of the system, especially in finder operations (it seems about 0.5 second slower than mountain lion). Also when reading a big pdf file in preview there is often lag when scrolling down/up.

    These performance issues could be related to the fact that i am on a late 2011 macbookpro and yosemite is optimized for latest hardware mbps? Or because it is still in beta?
    I am a bit disappointed because it seems to me that yosemite is quite less responsive than mountain lion in standard operations like open/close folders/files, open/close web pages etc..
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    It should be fine on that computer. Did you *just* install it? Spotlight could still be indexing, which can slow things down (you can check by invoking spotlight, you'll see an "indexing" progress bar.)
     
  3. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #3
    ^ this
     
  4. j800r Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Coventry, West mids, England
    #4
    Seconded (or would that be thirded).

    I'm packing just a mid 2010 low end 21.5" iMac and it behaves fine on Yosemite. Performance seems fine. Occasionally a tad sluggish after waking from sleep (I never shut down unless I know I'm gonna be away from it for more than a day, only sleep.)

    In truth, I've been constantly impressed with how well this machine has performed since purchase. Considering it was the cheapest model available it's certainly no slouch.
     
  5. spinlud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #5
    mm i hope the final release will run smoother than the current beta, especially for the system response in finder °_°.

    Maybe this is just a my impression but i feel that the performance in osx systems has followed a descending curve from snow leopard...what is your opinion?
     
  6. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #6
    OP could I ask how much RAM is in your Mac?

    I didn't see any performance degradation on my 2012 rMBP, only regular kernel panics, which Apple have diagnosed as a logic board issue and not a Yosemite issue.

    In fact as regards performance, I'll say this.

    Lion was a performance drop after Snow Leopard, (although the memory management was better).

    Mountain Lion got most of the performance back that Lion had lost, and Mavericks got me back to the SL level.
     
  7. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    The performance is definitely lower. Tested on a top-end Macbook Air and top-end new Mac Pro. Everything is much slower than Mavericks when it comes to UI performance.
     
  8. spinlud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #8
    8gb ram 1333
    ssd crucial 500 gb

    maybe the problem is the gpu?_?
     
  9. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #9
    I also have an Late 2011 15 inch, and only have an install on an external SSD and Mavericks on my internal SSD and even with USB 2.0 Yosemite is not slow on the machine. It was of course a fresh install and to be honest sometimes faster than Mavericks but my Mavericks install is still the original install (Lion) it came with just updated and it got thorugh some ruff times doing stuff with and is running quite some things but it is still running good nothing to complain about. Yosemite still faster than that.
     
  10. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Fast for me and as one poster suggested, wait until SPOTLIGHT SEARCH is finished after a new install
     
  11. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #11
    Doubt it's the GPU as I was mainly using the Intel integrated one, only swapping to the NVidia for Adobe apps.

    Spec is very similar to my rMBP (8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD)

    Have you run the trim enabler for your SSD?
     

Share This Page