Yosemite question

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by acblue94, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. acblue94 macrumors regular

    acblue94

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY.
    #1
    Hey guys, does anyone know how to change the incoming ringtone on incoming calls on my mac. It's said that the ringtone should match the ringtone assigned to your contact on the iPhone. But it's not the case. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    It is at the bottom of the settings screen in FaceTime preferences.
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    Excellent. Is that new for Yosemite? I don't recall that option in Mavericks.
     
  4. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    That's how to change the global ringtone. The OP wants to have it use the ringtones assigned for contacts. Unfortunately I don't believe it's possible, maybe a third party will add it in.

    Also, there's already a thread for this: Custom ringtones in Facetime (Yosemite)
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Yep... it is part of the Handoff/Continuity business so you can receive incoming calls on your Mac. I played with it a little today and it works really well.

    ----------

    I may be misreading, but it sounds like OP is just asking how to change the incoming ringtone period. I think OP only mentioned Contacts as he was misdirected there for the setting.
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    I just hadn't looked there before to see if it was an option. Now I can have the iPhone, iPad and Mac's all using the same tone.
     
  7. acblue94 thread starter macrumors regular

    acblue94

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY.
    #7
    Thanks everyone for the feedback. I guess what I'm saying is that, in my iPhone I have one ringtone set for everyone on my contacts list. All the same ringtone. But when i get incoming calls on the mac, a ringtone i don't use goes off.

    ----------

    Awesome thanks!! That worked, it was just set at a default ringtone.
     

Share This Page