Yosemite + Radeon = Mouse Lag?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sammyman, May 6, 2015.

  1. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #1
    So I have been reading the Yosemite forums about an issue which seems to have plagued my Mac Pro. I just removed a 7950 PC version which was giving me mouse lagging issues and replaced it with 2 x GT120's which seem to work fine.

    So I'm wondering if this is more an issue with the fact that I was running a PC version card not flashed, not modified (resistor not removed) and therefore not running at 5.0 GT/s. Or is this a more broad issue with all Radeon cards?
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    It has nothing to do with flashed vs. non-flashed. It has everything to with with Yosemite vs. AMD.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Running Yosemite + 7950 Mac Edition here, no mouse lag so far.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Yeah, that's what makes it hard to track down I suppose. Not everyone has the issue.

    I don't have a mouse issue with mine either. For me, this problem manifests itself as being cursor lag with typing into web-form text boxes. Like here while I'm sending this reply. I can type a full half sentence with no feedback on screen. It all stays in the buffer, then suddenly bursts into the box seconds latter. It's most annoying. With the exact same hardware configuration, I can boot into Mavericks and there is no such issue.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    I have this issue as well, but only in Safari.
     
  6. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #6
    I had the "certain web forms annoying lag" on my 5.1 with msi non flashed 280X.

    When I did a clean install it went away. I had always just upgraded the OS, but felt it was time to go clean and that solved this specific issue for me.

    I really did a clean install—not a restore or anything like that.
     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    I did that too, it was no help here.
     
  8. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    There's another post about this from months ago, al to of us ATI / Yosemite people experience this.

    It seems centered around Safari, def. on form inputs, but having a video playing in the background also produces it. It looks up the entire display output sometimes.

    The issue was not present in Mavericks and is highly frustrating.

    A clean install did not fix the issue for me either.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    I'm running a GTX 780 so not affected. However, Apple released Safari 8.0.6 yesterday. Have you folks tried it?

    Lou
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Video in the background makes no difference for my machine.

    ----------

    Yeah, I've been running the update. Made no difference at all with regards to the text input.
     

Share This Page