Yosemite - StartUp Chime, Anyone Notice This?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flowrider, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #1
    After the Yosemite install on one of my internal disks, my StartUp Chime has disappeared on all my startup disks. Anyone else have this issue?

    Lou
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    I had to go into the sound settings and select the correct output device again and it's been working correctly since. It defaulted to internal speakers and I re-selected line-out.
     
  3. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I noticed this as well... I've installed 10.10 on my Mac Mini and noticed it was not chiming. However the other day I reset PRAM on it (troubleshooting another problem), and as you may know, when you reset PRAM it reboots again immediately... the chime occurred on that reboot but then after Yosemite loaded, it was gone again on subsequent reboots.
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    I've got nothing! Mine chimes twice while booting Yose.
     
  6. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #6
    I have Yosemite on my MacBook and I didn't think about this until you mention it, but now that I'm thinking back, I can't remember hearing a startup chime from it in a while...
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Feels like B5 has disabled the startup chime here.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Hey Lou, are you running PB1 or DP5?
     
  9. flowrider thread starter macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  10. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    I'm pretty sure Yosemite either updates the firmware or introduces a new EFI shim that overrides behavior regardless of where you boot from.
     

Share This Page