Yosemite Theme for PPC problem

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by UnusualCore, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. UnusualCore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    #1
    Hi everyone!
    I am trying to create a Yosemite theme for PPC Leopard and I'm having trouble recompiling the modified SArtFile.bin file, the encoder throws up this message "Exception in thread "main" java.io.EOFException
    at java.io.RandomAccessFile.readInt(RandomAccessFile.java:713)
    at artEncoder.main(artEncoder.java:55)"

    I have no idea what this means, I'm presuming the encoder was corrupted when I downloaded it (I tried downloading it again but still chucks up the same message).
    Any help would be appreciated!

    Tutorial being used to make the theme: http://www.hersson.net/technotes/custom-theme-for-os-x-leopard
     
  2. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #2
    I'm not a code guru, but just out of curiosity, are you using the latest version of Java for PPC? Maybe the tool you're using is looking for libraries that may be out of date or nonexistent?

    I could be waaaay out in left field here, but I'm just trying to help. :)
     
  3. UnusualCore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    #3
    I have used the version of Java that came with this PPC-code only Leopard restore image that I downloaded (OS X 10.5.8), I have not tried to download a newer version.
    I'll give that a shot later (my PowerMac is currently backing up)
     
  4. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #4
    Have you ran Software Update since you installed the OS?
     
  5. UnusualCore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    #5
    Yep, no new Java versions, I just checked.
     
  6. UnusualCore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    #6
    I think I will try to get Lion on a VM on a friend's PC, and getting a newer version of artTools that way (that version doesn't use java so hopefully I won't get any headaches!)
     
  7. UnusualCore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    #7
    I have gave up on that idea, even thought that PC is practically new, it still does not have enough ram to run Lion (I have it on the bare essentials)
     

Share This Page