Yosemite unusable

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by hmarsili, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. hmarsili macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    Safari on Yosemite is freezing my machine every two or three hours. Only solution is a reset. Does anyone knows how to reinstall or reset safari?
     
  2. as11ley macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I am having this issue with Safari too, every now and then, usually when I click the address bar it freezes and the only way to get it back is to force quit it. I think this might be a problem with Safari, anyway I filled a bug report on the feedback assistant.
     
  3. CaffeinatedNoms macrumors member

    CaffeinatedNoms

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Northeast England
    #3
    Safari ≠ Yosemite.

    Your problem is with Safari.

    You can try erasing the Safari preferences by dragging the com.apple.safari preferences from your ~/Library/Preferences folder to the trash. Then run repair permissions from within Disk Utility on the drive/partition containing Yosemite.
     
  4. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #4
    Sorry, but I don't agree. Even then I think (not sure) the problem is Safari, my all machine is crashing. Keyboard and mouse unresponsive, cannot force quit or even shutdown normally. I always end up with a HARD RESET.

    So, bottom line, in this case, Yosemite is my problem, even if Safari cause the problem, the OS should not break like this.
     
  5. Rian Gray, Aug 4, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2014

    Rian Gray macrumors regular

    Rian Gray

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    NJ, United States
    #5
    I wish the title was something like 'Safari crashes my machine', that way people would've read this thread with a lot more ease. Yosemite is still in beta and glitches are running all over the place, it's like a Russian roulette if it's gonna work for you or not. Frankly, not many people would care if Yosemite is unusable or not, and there isn't much solution available yet.

    At any rate, have you tried other browsers? Does it still happen with, say, firefox or chrome?
     
  6. burningrave101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #6
    All of my web browsers including FireFox and Chrome are randomly locking up since switching to Yosemete and can't do anything until i Force Quit. It doesn't happen nearly as often as I see with Safari but it's not just a Safari issue. I wish there was a fix because it's happening way too often.
     
  7. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #7
    Eyyyy, came on. :p I understand is a BETA, but it does not meant I cannot share my problems or try finding a solution. The SO is sadly unusable for me, rebooting the machine every two hours is no joke.

    I love it, and since I see this is not a generally spread problem, I will keep trying finding a solution.

    And a again, I'm not sure this is a Safari problem since the ALL machine freezes. Unfortunately is use Safari 95% of the time. I remove all plugins and reset Safari removing the plist. If that not works, I will switch to CHROME to see if something change.
     
  8. Rian Gray macrumors regular

    Rian Gray

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    NJ, United States
    #8
    In my case, iTunes crashes and it's hardly usable. Safari does freeze, but doesn't crash the whole machine. Tried it on 3 different Macs, and all of them got different symptoms, Safari unstable, iTunes unstable, Mail app unstable, and etc.

    This is probably the first beta that was unbelievably unstable even for the beta. And this is the first time I had trouble with Apple's own software running on Mac. So, yeah, I suppose it's gonna take some time.
     
  9. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #9
    I can now confirm SAFARI is not the problem. I ditched Safari over Chrome and computer still freezing every two or three hours. :(

    How can I trying identity what is causing the freeze?
     
  10. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #10
    Send a report to Apple. You can also tell us what your setup is like so others can chime in if they have similar setups.
     
  11. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #11
    I already sent the report to Apple. I have a very simple setup, I was removing everything that could cause a problem. I'm running NONE internet plugins, just Skype + dropbox (I removed everything else) on a Mac Book AIR I purchase this year with 4gb RAM. I upgraded from Mavericks, did not make a fresh install.
     
  12. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #12
    Do you have Time machine running? I've noticed that in some cases, Time Machine keeps wanting to backup about 7-8GB of data every time it does a backup on my Yosemite test iMac, even though I have no idea where 7+GB of new data is coming from. It also takes FOREVER to do the backup. And I suspect it might've been responsible for the slowdowns I was having.

    later I rebooted and so far, it hasn't been so bad. But, if you have Time Machine, try turning it off and see if that speeds things up for you.
     
  13. mizxco macrumors 6502a

    mizxco

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #13
    Reset Safari, or use a another browser (shouting Chrome) for the time-being.
     
  14. Cisco_Kid macrumors 6502

    Cisco_Kid

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #14
    Did you upgrade your Mavericks installation?

    If so I would back up your personal information and reinstall the public beta from scratch/clean install.
     
  15. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #15
    If I make a clean install (boot from USB?) Can I then restore a TIME MACHINE backup made on Mavericks or I have to install all the apps again manually?
     
  16. crazyxzer0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #16
    You guys are just throwing solutions when he doesn't even know what the problem is.

    Open up Console and check the logs and see what happens when your computer crashes. See if there is any abnormal lines in the log that could point you to the reason its crashing.
     
  17. Cisco_Kid macrumors 6502

    Cisco_Kid

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #17
    You certainly can do that.
     
  18. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #18
    Oddly enough, the nightly betas of Omniweb work better for me. I noticed that url bar crash on Safari too, plus now and then when you open a new tab from a link, that new window won’t scroll with your mouse scroll wheel.
     
  19. davidmelissa2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #19
    Fixed

    So, after some thinking, I decided to try something. It appears that the freeze issue is completely related to the address bar. Since the address bar is so "smart", its got a lot going on, but the bugs haven't all been worked out so the only way to fix it is to disable the features within the address bar which are features many of you either won't miss or won't even remember are gone. Click Safari at the top then Preferences. Click the "Search" tab at the top and uncheck all boxes in there. That should fix the issues with Safari freezing until Apple gets this resolved properly. Please give me some feedback so I know how well this is working for the rest of you.
     
  20. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #20
    Tried that, still freezing. For the first time it happens to mi while typing on SKYPE. So once again, I don't think is a Safari issue. What is consistent is every time I've a freeze, I'm typing.

    Could this be related? 8/8/14 18:50:24.000 kernel[0]: Sandbox: Spotlight(285) deny file-write-create /Users/hmarsili/Library/Caches/com.apple.DictionaryServices
     
  21. Mtmspa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #21
    Load Windows Vista over the top and all will run fine.

    Yosemite is working great for me as is Safari.
     
  22. davidmelissa2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #22
    Re: Fixed

    You might also try going to the autofill tab in the Safari preferences and unchecking all of those boxes as well.
     
  23. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #23
    Try and Reboot into recovery and do the permissions fix.
     
  24. hmarsili thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #24
    Well, running out of ideas. Did a recovery boot, reinstall Mavericks, install yosemite PB again, did not restore from backup but copy the files. Still freezing every couple of hours, always while typing. Also, checked the permissions and everything is fine.

    More ideas? :)
     
  25. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #25
    Try and post more stuff from logs
     

Share This Page