Yosemite uses a lot of RAM....

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by nickskaar, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. nickskaar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #1
    Hello there fellow Mac users!

    I just downgraded to Mavericks again after a terrible experience with Yosemite.
    It wasn't the design that was the problem it was that the OS X used all the RAM i had! It used 3,76 out of 4 GB! Am i the only one with this experience?
    Don´t think so... heres from another thread.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=478544&d=1403930504

    GOOD JOB :apple:
     
  2. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

    BenTrovato

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    On my MBA with 4gb of ram Yosemite was using memory over 5+ in the virtual space. Never noticed any slow downs, in fact it ran better than Mavericks. On my desktop with 16gb of ram.. Yosemite often uses 13, 14, 15gb... runs like butter. I'm not sure why one would be concerned with what the stat says in activity monitor over real world performance.
     
  3. nickskaar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #3
    A lot of people complains about Yosemite using 99% of their memory, i got the early 2014 MBA and it was laggy as fish in Yosemite! I had only Activity Monitor open.

    It was very snappy to! it would take over 10 sec to open safari when running Yosemite, it would take maybe 1-2 sec with Mavericks. Its a new computer so it shouldn't lag.. bought it 3 weeks ago.
    Nick
     
  4. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #4
    People are concerned because there must be a REASON why Yosemite ( OS only ) runs fine on a Mac ( my Mac, 8GB RAM available ) with 2 1/2GB RAM and it needs 15GB on your system.
     
  5. nickskaar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #5
    Im not going to update before they find a fix on this,, wonder why it use so much, Mavericks runs just fine =)
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    I wouldn't worry about the usage, more the impact. OS X will always utilise as much RAM as it possibly can to make the system as snappy as possible. If you have 8GB RAM, it can easily idle on 6GB. Same for 16, 32, etc. It's a common misconception that high RAM usage is either a bug or causing poor performance.

    If you've had real world impact with performance, there are a number of things you can check before immediately blaming RAM usage -- correlation does not equal causation.

    If you'd be happy to give us an opportunity to run some diagnostics on your Mac, I'm sure we can help diagnose what's causing it to run slowly on Yosemite (if it even is running slowly, as it seems your main gripes are with the RAM usage in activity monitor). Namely: run Smart Utility to check the SSD is OK, verify through Disk Utility, disable windows when logging back in, permissions repair ...
     
  7. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #7
    Please explain what OS X is doing when it uses a high amount of RAM, being idle. Not what you think that it does, facts what it does and why. Thank you.
     
  8. grandM macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #8
    lol
    macOS does memory usage different. If you had 32 GB ram it would still be full. RAM Memory is only freed upon needing it...
     
  9. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #9
    It should use all available memory. That is how it is designed to work.

    The slowdown could be due to spotlight indexing.
     
  10. rmackner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #10
    I run 10.10 on a 2010 base model macbook pro 13" and it runs perfect. It uses 90% of my ram (4GB total) almost all the time but never have issues with logic pro x or diablo 3.
     
  11. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #11
    Source ?
     
  12. rmackner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #12
    My hackintosh with 16gb of ram only uses about 3-4gb at idle.
     
  13. macenied, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

    macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #13
    We could dig into it. When you ask for facts, it seems there is just some bla, bla around. LOLs and empty phrases.
     
  14. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    Is your memory pressure gauge GREEN at the bottom of the Activity Monitor ? That means it's good.
     
  15. indefinitekarma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    #15
    I have 16GB ram in my machine and it has 9.12GB used so yes it is quite a lot but it seems to scale with your machine. I had Yosemite on a 8GB machine and it never went over 5GB.
     
  16. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #16
    Memory compression only delays the need of memory paging for ACTIVE programs, which is a good thing. It does NOT remove the responsibility for the programs to free up their allocated memory when they terminate, which is a basic UNIX concept ( not only UNIX ) and behavior.
     
  17. nickskaar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #17
    got to be my spotlight indexing then, well.. I'm gonna wait with updating for a while =) enjoy Mavericks a little bit. :cool:
     
  18. nickskaar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #19

    Could be, still gonna wait with updating isn't it smart to wait till people find bugs? =)

    Thanks for the tips guys!
     
  19. macenied, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

    macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #20
    They are talking about reducing the need of paging, not about using as much RAM as possible on an idling system. I commented on this already a few postings above.

    What you expect OS X to do ? Knowing what you might do next and caching the data in it's RAM already ? Hardly possible. If Yosemite idles at 15GB memory usage and you have next to zero open applications there is something wrong in the memory management.
     
  20. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #21
    Well when a program is opened, it immediately loads into the RAM. That's universal of all computers, not just Macs. However, UNIX systems use RAM slightly differently to Windows. They'll use as much physical RAM as possible. When you close an application on OS X it will still stay in the RAM for a certain amount of time. This means that if you reopen the program it will open much quicker and run far faster. This also means that the RAM usage might show as being larger than it 'should be' if you've recently used an application.

    If you've had options like 'reopen windows when logging back in', this will reopen the application itself, not just the application window. Even if you Cmd+Q these applications on restart, the RAM usage will still show as being high for the reasons stated above. With high RAM usage when idling with Finder only, OS X is likely to be running maintenance such as caching/indexing. If you monitor the RAM usage you'll see that opening up an application won't have an immediate or detrimental impact on the RAM usage because OS X will mix and match in real-time (it's been like that since Tiger, maybe even a little earlier).

    When the RAM is getting full, OS X will get rid of the RAM-cached applications to make way for the new application being opened. With the addition of memory compression in Mavericks you can put the RAM under heavy strain and it won't page as quickly because the RAM for idle applications is compressed in real-time.

    'Paging' is when OS X runs out of all of its RAM, and the open applications require more RAM than OS X can physically give it. When this happens, it will write to the hard-drive as virtual memory, which briefly uses free hard-drive space to act as RAM. With an SSD this is virtually seamless due to the quick access speeds, and read/write speeds of an SSD compared to a conventional hard-drive. However with a standard hard-drive you'll see a severe impact in performance when this happens.

    Windows, on the other hand, uses RAM differently. When you open an application in Windows, it will always page to the hard-drive and the RAM simultaneously, regardless of how much free RAM you have. That's often why Windows doesn't really sing, no matter what hardware you chuck at it -- although that part about Windows performance is just my opinion.

    Hope this helps.
     
  21. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #22
    An operating system should ideally be able to make use of all the physical RAM in a computer. Otherwise, what's the point of having that RAM?

    In other words, you should be happy that OS X is using all your RAM, not sad.

    If the OS can allocate more memory to each program, that means no slowdowns if/when those programs decide they need to use that extra memory.
     
  22. scrubmilk macrumors member

    scrubmilk

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
  23. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #24
    I trhink I will pass on Yosemite for a while. MBA is working too good and Yosemite offers me little additional function!:apple:
     
  24. LV426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #25
    Oh dear. How many times does it have to be said?

    It's a very good idea for your computer to be making use of as much RAM as it can. That's the way things are *designed* to work these days. It doesn't necessarily mean you're running out of memory or there's a memory leak etc. etc. The Memory Pressure trace will tell you if you've got problems or not.
     

Share This Page