You mean I might not be Leopard ready??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Jazhawk, Oct 16, 2007.

1. Jazhawk macrumors member

I'm a noob when it comes to Mac and I got my first one last week. Used but seems to be up to the tasks and in good shape. Runs very quiet.

But I do want to upgrade to Leopard when it drops. I already did a pre-order at Fry's and got this toy Leopard thing for 10 bucks.

Anyway shortly afterwards, I started to read stories that my G4 might not be enough.

It's a PowerPC G4 733 MHZ with 1.25 Gig of SDRAM, two drives. One 110 gig and the other 20 gig. GForce2 MX AGP, 32meg.

I'm amazed how quickly I took to this thing although I hate this keyboard. But since I got it, I have not booted my Windows box once. I've heard stories like that but thought they just wanted to hate on Microsoft but maybe not.

Anyway, will it run?

-Jazhawk

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Its not officially supported and even if it runs, it won't be smooth...

3. projectle macrumors 6502

If you upgrade the graphics card to something that has full Quartz Extreme support, you should not have an issue.

You will however need to do some "tweaks" to the installer to allow for you to install.

That is unless you or a friend have another Mac that you can use to push the install from.

I have it running with no issues on a G3 Tower with an upgraded graphics card.

4. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

The GeForce 2 MX supports Quartz Extreme.

6. Jazhawk thread starter macrumors member

I can get a card but what tweaks would I need to do? Is there a link somewhere or can you post it here?

-Jazhawk

7. reckless_0001 macrumors 6502

Sorry nope. For a first Mac, you should have gotten one not so old.

8. Jazhawk thread starter macrumors member

Are you techincal or just reading the specs?

This isn't upgradable? Can this board support a faster processor or don't you know?

-Jazhawk

9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian