Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

inlimbo

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 29, 2005
Sydney, Australia
Hi,

I have a minor bone to pick. With windows, when u delete a program it leaves all sorts of file behind in the registry and so on. I remember reading that this doesn't happen with macs. Which seems to be true most of the time. But sometimes files are left behind the preferences folder etc...

For example I just moved the application file for iGetMovies into the trash. But it has left behind 2 files:
iGetMovies in __MACOSX and iGetMovies Preferences.plist in Preferences.

What are these files? Can I trash em? Should I worry about them? Should I trash em? I ran macjanitor but it didn't delete them (but maybe its not meant to).

Thanx Im new to mac so please re-educate me. :)

whocares

macrumors 65816
Oct 9, 2002
:noitаɔo˩
They are just preference files and can be trashed if you want. They can also be left where they are if you're not in need of the space ;)

Bern

macrumors 68000
Nov 10, 2004
Australia
:eek: We need to hunt down the swine that made you such a promise and subject her to a public flogging.

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina
The difference with a Mac is that there aren't any processes that still get run when you delete an app in this way. You don't lose CPU cycles, just a little HD space.

Applespider

macrumors G4
Macjanitor is just for running the cron jobs. It's not supposed to go hunting preference files to delete.