Your Advice Is Needed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Love I, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. Love I macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #1
    My Situation is Im using an HP laptop Amd Turion 64x2 1.90ghz processor and 4gigs of ram. Im running pro tool mpowered 8 also reason 5 and record 1.5. i use reason 5 in live instance with 2 axiom 61 keyboards and the maudio fast track pro. for the most part it works ok, but when i use the abbey roads refill it starts to crap out. with pro tools i have no luck in even getting half way through the production. I want to upgrade to the MBP 15inch i7 with 8gigs of ram. anyone know how taxing will these applications be on the cpu on the MBP.
     
  2. mpdonlanjr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #2
    i am able to run logic on my mbp 13" just fine when doing two tracks at once. fr a macbook you'd want to upgrade to a firewire interface because its much faster transfer speeds and you get a better audio sound through it.

    and i do mess around with a cheap m-audio keyboard and theres no lag while playing it through speakers connected to my audio interface.
     
  3. marshallbedsaul macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    my macbook pro was beast base model mid 2010
    I could run photoshop,safari,firefox itunes quick time garage band all at the same time, so what yoru asking for should be just fine.
     
  4. Love I thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the advice. Are you running logic in 32 bit mode or 64bit?
     
  5. Love I thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for your response.
     

Share This Page