Your Mac Pro "have" or "haven't" Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, May 30, 2008.

?

Have you installed another operating system on you computer

  1. Windows XP

    42.9%
  2. Windows Vista

    50.0%
  3. Linux

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. [b]Is it in a Virtual Machine (Parallels/VMware/other)[/b]

    42.9%
  6. [b]Bootcamp/Alternative harddrive[/b]

    57.1%
  1. Amethyst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #1
    Your Mac Pro "have" or "haven't" Windows ?

    mine is yes ! but in parallels for test my script (i am web designer / developer / computer engineering) . must run internet explorer (and sometime windows version of browser) for checking compatibility . small .net project .

    and no games !!!! (I prefers to play console games much more than PCs games)

    for me virtualization with mac pro is great combination for my work . not make me annoying windows in virtualization is fast enogh for my work . great !!
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    This should be a poll, even though it would still be poorly worded. ;)
    No windows for me on my mac. Not because I don't like windows, I haven't a need for it.
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    I have Windows installed with Boot Camp for two reasons: CAD programs and video games.
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    I'm guessing English isn't your first language?
     
  5. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    have.

    boot camp and parallels (which kind of sucks).
     
  6. faumble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
  7. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #7
    Have. Parallels since Day 1. Never had a problem with it.
     
  8. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #8
    Via Bootcamp - But only for the few games I play (when COD4 arrives in its Mac glory in a month or so, vista will gather dust once more)
     
  9. thecrunge macrumors member

    thecrunge

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Oxnard,CA
  10. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #10
    Mac OS on primary HDD for productivity, WinXP on a secondary disk for games.
     
  11. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    I have littered my Mac Pro severely with Windows:

    - Boot Camp: XP Pro and Vista 64 bits (gaming, gaming, gaming)
    - Parallels: XP Pro (my most used "if Windows is needed quickly")
    - VMware: Vista (for fun and fooling around, and runs Ubuntu)

    But.... running just Leopard 90% of the time! ;)
     
  12. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #12
    As a longtime Mac user I'm trying to keep windows off my Mac Pro and, so far, I've succeeded.

    The success is probably mostly due to buying an Xbox 360 awhile back.
     
  13. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #13
    I do have windows on my Mac Pro, but only for programming.
     
  14. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #14
    No windows... Crossover (Wine) does everything I need. Actually most of my computer time is spent playing Team Fortress 2 with Crossover :D

    I had planned to install Boot Camp when I bought my mac, but just never needed it.
     
  15. remmy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #15
    Did install it with boot camp just for gaming, a tiny 20gig partition for gaming but haven't used it since, wasting space.
     
  16. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #16
    Have via Parallels. I need it for two applications.

    P.S. XP is still a giant turd .o00o..
     
  17. jbcandkc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
  18. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #18
    Came across to get away. I still have a Windows box to fire up if the situation gets dire enough.
     
  19. hms84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #19
    I have...
    One 250GB for MAC
    Another 80GB WINDOWS
     
  20. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #20
    Have.

    OS X on drive 1.
    Vista on drive 2.
    Lots of Linuxes on imaginary drives 3-n. :)
    [VMWare Fusion/VirtualBox]
     
  21. dchao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #21
    VMware user here :cool:

    Need windows to run windows-only freeware. VMware has more than paid for itself.
     
  22. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #22
    have...

    There are lots of professional apps, which still have not been ported for Mac OS... Nice thing is that I don't have to buy a PC now, but can spend money on a Mac. After all, a very, very wise move with making it possible to run different OSs on Mac.

    sash
     
  23. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #23
    Have Vista, mainly to help with using Windows apps needed at uni.
     

Share This Page